2 comments on “Whatever Lola Wants

  1. I’m so used to the original (Sarah Vaughan) and the tango (Gotan Project) versions of this song that it’s very hard to wrap my ear around this one. I do love Natacha but this song…I don’t know, it doesn’t really sound good to me with all that “arabesque”. I know she does this more lately – takes popular (English) songs and adds that Middle Eastern flavour to them. It works sometimes (see “I put a spell on you”) but some other times it’s just kitsch. I’m still hooked on her early albums though…

  2. Hi, Anda. I pretty much agree with you. I’m not thrilled with her version of this song (it’s not nearly as good as “I Put A Spell On You),” but it was nice to find out that she had done the soundtrack to this new movie that’s out…

    As for her early albums versus later… Yeah, I think I liked Diaspora and Gedida the most. But she hasn’t come out with an album yet (that I know of) which didn’t contain at least a couple of songs that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

