8 comments on “Another Place for Bollywood Movies in New York City: 28th and Lex

  1. RICHARD! Tonight I was out for a friend’s birthday and met a young south Indian woman, who I of course accosted with all India filmi related subjects. Guess what she pronounced correctly for me? One guess about whose name I didn’t know until tonight I was pronouncing wrong: Padmini. Darn those Tamilians for stressing the first syllable! Okay, I also learned I was saying Joythika incorrectly too. When talking with Hindi and tamil speakers, trying to prnounce movie titles, I am very used to them saying “Oh you mean _____?” And they say the French get offended over pronounciation mistakes! Too funny that I learned the correct pronunciation of Padmini tonight too. :)

  2. P.S. Forget $20 for the movie, too much. You’re right, go to the library. Your NYPL LEO system says there are 470 “Feature Films–India.” That’s fantastic! I always think the library sort of takes the edge of taxes.

  3. For example, there’s a movie there in you r NYPL system called “Devi The goddess” from 1960, that’s #3 of 470. I bet that’s great! I’m jealous of the New York collection.

  4. Dammit, your system even has “Mere Naam Joker,” which I can’t even find to buy! Very jealous! Plus, as I look over this great collection I see multiple copies and few to no holds! In Minneapolis/ Hennepin there are often 20-100 “holds” for movies. You have paradise at your fingertips, for free!

  5. Sorry, 1 last important point. You will most likely be able to have material sent to a branch near your home for free. I noticed that the request form online for the LEO system looks similiar to the intra-library loan system I use, in which I have them sent to my closet library, which is a free service.

  6. Thank you Sita-ji, for all the advice and comments. And so fast, that I was still writing and revising the post while you were sending them (and still am doing so actually :-).

  7. That business about the Padmini pronunciation is just uncanny :) . This guy was also correcting my pronunciation of the first “i,” which I was saying too much like the second “i.” (I suspect my pronunciation error was even worse than yours!)

    I’m glad that you were able to find the right search in the NYPL – I remember last time, there was something going wrong with your search. But you found plenty of stuff this time…

    Strangely, though, Queens has a separate library from the NYPL. When I checked that listing, it had a good number too. I could go to either because I end up going into Manhattan a lot.

    Well, clearly, I have some research to do.

    And thanks for confirming that $20 is way too much. Thought I was being a bit of a cheapskate for a moment…

  8. Oh, yeah, re. Mera Naam Joker… You can see a third or a half of that on YouTube. The woman who had posted it stopped after that. She said she was posting from Pakistan with a dialup connection and it was just too difficult. Well, that was frustrating… But at least I got to see a few scenes with you know who!

Leave a Reply

