3 comments on “Gopi Krishna

  1. oh, my favorite Gopi Krishna. He was in Mahabharat of BR Chopra as Arjun’s dance teacher. That was the last sighting of him. I saw him live when I was a kid. He came over the pond and did some shows over here. He was pretty remarkable. If you want to see a great performance of his, see a telugu movie called Bhookailas where he does a great Shiva Tandavam dance. I think that is his expertise.

  2. Hi, Hema. It’s great that you got to see him live!

    I saw Bhookailas online with subtiltes (though the subtitles were pretty out of sync and of questionable quality – one reason I watched this movie mainly for the dancing). Gopi Krishna’s dance in this was pretty great.

    By the way, so was Kamala Lakshman’s. And this had one of my favorite Helen dances too.

  3. I SAW SITARA AND GOPI WAY BACK WHEN I WAS IN SCHOOL IN MATUNGA, BOMBAY. SITARA DEVI DANCED FOR A CHARITY FOR THE ST JOSEPH’S SCHOOL AND THEN A FEW LATER GOPI PERFORMED A SPECIAL ON FOR ANOTHER CAUSE FOR CHARITY AND I KNEW THEM TO BE MY FAVOURITES FOR LIFE.
    THE NEW ONES HAVE TO GIVE MORE SACRIFICES TO BE EVEN AN IOTA OF THESE GREATS, INCLUDING, BIRJU MAHARAJ. HAVE BEEN MISSING SITARA DEVI FOR YEARS AND SINCE IS NOW SO OLD I DO INTEND TO VISIT HER WHEN IN BOMBAY THIS WINTER.
    LOVE THEM ALL ….BOBBY

Leave a Reply

