11 comments on “Ratan (1944) (When I tried to play a DVD of this movie, it nearly destroyed my computer, so I’ll just have to settle for YouTube clips of these wonderful songs.)

  1. I’ve been hearing these songs over the years, but this was the first time I got to see them. I agree: Ratan seems like a film that’ll probably be a good watch… just a feeling. I hope the bad DVD is a one-off case (well, julmibaba seems to have also ripped the songs from a Friends DVD, so I’m hoping yours was just an unlucky one-off instance).

    Am off to try and find this film… it looks too good to miss. And the music is wonderful!

  2. Shame you can’t get the DVD to play. Have you tried cleaning bottom of the disc? If that fails, consider buying Skip Dr. from Amazon for $30. It has rescued many unplayable Indian discs for me.

    Like dustedoff, am probably going to get a copy. Songs sound very nice.

  3. I am very glad that my post has inspired both of you to seek out this film. Please let me know what you think, especially if I don’t get a chance to view it.

    Dustedoff, yes I think the music is wonderful. And since I found close to a dozen of thse songs, I feel as though I did get to see some of this film, at least.

    Mister Naidu, thanks for the suggestions. But the disc looked clean to me and whatever was going on here, it seemed like more than an ordinary skip or scratch. I’ve never had a DVD disable my computer! I had to reboot a couple of times and go through some anxious waiting before I could get things back to normal.

    I’ve had a couple of different disc doctor type things, especially the kind where you put the disc on a little wheel and turn it with a crank. Unfortunately, the one I had a couple of years ago seemed much better than the present one.

    I used the device on my copy of Payal because I saw visible scratches and I thought they might have something to do with the skips that seemed to be happening throughout the film. (I really don’t know much about what happens when a DVD is scratched, in part because my DVDs are pretty scratch free, unlike my audo discs.) Later, though, when I saw clips of the dances on YouTube, I saw that everyone had the same skips, so it obviously had nothing to do with the scratches! (Our friend Tommydan1 has supplied some more likely explanations for these problems.)

    Anyway, I have already returned the DVD the store. But they didn’t have another copy of Ratan and, besides, I admit I was reluctant to chance trying it (even though Jumilbaba obviously had had no problems with it – who knows, maybe it works better on a different computer), so I agreed to exchange it for another movie. That’s why I now have a copy of Parineeta. :)

  4. ‘Rattan’ catapulted Naushad to fame with all the songs becoming massive hits.’Ankiya milake’ by Zohrabai has a cult status.Zohrabai Ambalewali later sang for Naushad in ‘Mela’, ‘Phir aah dil se nikli’ which was again a stunning composition.’Milke bicchad gayee ankhiyan’ by Amirbai Karnataki iss anoyher song from this classic which exhibits the genius of Naushad in blending the folk music with modern orchestrations.

  5. Veda, thank you for the information. (And by the way, I looked at your blog and it looks very interesting – I will have to get back to it.)

    I do like the Zohrabai song in Mela, “Phir Aah Dil Se Nikli.” In fact, coincidentally, Mela is probably the soundtrack that I’ve been listening to more than any other lately. (Or not so coincidentally, because I’ve gotten very much into the Hindi film music of the ’40s, especially Naushad.) I also like Zohrabai’s duet with Shamshad Begum in Anmol Ghadi.

    I actually first heard Zohrabai’s voice in a duet with Rajkumari in Khemchand Prakash’s amazing soundtrack to Mahal, which I have considered for a while to be my favorite Bollywood soundtrack of all time. (Mahal was a great movie too – directed by Kamal Amrohi – whose name, of course, came up in the comments to the post after this one. :) And there’s that qawwali in Zeenat that she sang with Noor Jehan…

    I obviously didn’t notice “Milke Bicchad Gayee Ankhiyan,” nor do I know as much about Amirbai Karnataki, but thanks for calling my attention to that, because it is a good song too.

  6. Thanks for reminding me the beautiful Zohrabai number from ‘Mahal’-‘Chhun chhun chhun ghungarwa baaje chhun’.Amirbai was already famous by the time she sang for Naushad.Her songs in 1943 Ashok Kumar starrer ‘Kismet’ were hugely popular.’Dheere Dheere aare badal dhheere’ both as solo and duet as well as ‘Ab tere siva kaun mera krishna kanhaiya’ /’Ghar ghar mein diwali hai mera ghar mein andhera’from the movie were hits.The composer was Anil Biswas.

  7. As far as I know,DVD copy has not been released by any major labels as Ultra,Eros,Moser Baer,Shemaroo etc.With the copyright having expired for these movies of early 40’s , some shops in Delhi are comimg out with DVDs.But their quality is abysmal as has been your experience with Rattan.I too have a copy of Rattan from ‘Friends’ label.National Films archive have preserved a good copy of the movie,the one shown a long back on Doordarshan.You can explore at http://nfaipune.nic.in/

  8. Pingback: Aurat (1953) «

  9. “And I can say for certain that this is a soundtrack that I can’t get out of my head. It is so catchy, so full of wonderful vocals and rhythm yet at the same time often very simple compared to soundtracks of the next couple of decades”…

    …..true, and with good reason – this is probably as good a soundtrack as us mortals will ever get to hear.

    The movie was released when my parents were kids. So it’s a bit before their time as well. But the sheer quality of the music is undeniable.

    Not a weak song in the entire move. Undoubtedly Naushad’s masterpiece (including the brilliant Baiju Bawra).

Leave a Reply

