4 comments on “Gopi Krishna’s Theater Dance in Parineeta (wonderful no matter what color you tint it!)

  1. Ajnabi, glad you loved the dance too. But are you saying that much of the rest of the film didn’t hold your attention much? I just finished watching it a couple of hours ago, and I thought it was positively delightful.

  2. I am. :-( And I’m embarrassed to admit it! I wrote a review of it ages ago, but suffice it to say I’m starting to think my tastes in film are utterly sad.

  3. Hmm, I don’t know why you would declare your own tastes in film to be “utterly sad.” Whatever our differences in taste (and I suspect there are some :) , I have to say, you deserve a lot of credit for being an American without anything close to an Indian background (from what I’ve gathered from your blog) who simply discovered the joys of Indian cinema in a big way over the last couple of years, defying conventional wisdom and expectations…just like me! And, we might have different reasons that this happened… But nonetheless, I certainly would consider you a comrade of sorts tastewise, and I don’t see anything sad about your take on things!

    Also, I just quickly read your review of Parineeta, and I would agree with a couple of points… For instance, it is difficult to follow these relationships and figure out who everyone is in relation to everyone else.

    You also have reasonable complaints about the main characters, but I have such affection for both Meena Kumari and Ashok Kumar that I enjoy seeing them in almost every role, and I am positively delighted when they deliver the best performance that I would expect from them – as they did here.

    I’m so biased in my own ways that I also never saw the newer Parineeta, nor do I have any desire to :) , but that’s probably a problem in my own tastes, not something to be admired. (It’s ironic that I first discovered a lot of Indian cinema by tracing samples and influences in the music of very contemporary musicians – but now I’d much rather see something from the 40s or early 50s than anything that came out in at least the past 25 years – at least when it comes to Hindi cinema…)

    We also approach these things with certain social concerns. While these older films can be regressive/frustrating in some ways (for instance, their championing of the ever-loyal and self-sacrificing Indian woman, which you certainly haven’t failed to notice :) , they can be very progressive in others (speaking up for the poor and downtrodden, criticisms of the social-economic system, etc. – where many of these old Indian movies, including this one (which is far from one of the more political films of the time), are well ahead of most contemporary and/or western fare).

    And I do often appreciate the no-frills approach/minimalism of sorts that the old Parineeta sticks to.

    Anyway, I should probably withhold further comment before I completely end up doing my writeup in comments (thereby exhausting my inclination to do a writeup in a regular blog post – which is what happened with a couple of movies recently :) …

Leave a Reply

