9 comments on ““Come, my beloved, let’s fly beyond the moon…”

  1. I love all the songs in this film… absolutely superb. This one is one of my favourites, followed closely by Mausam hai aashikaana. And yes, definitely Thaare rahiyo o baanke yaar: by far and away the most beautiful mujra song I’ve encountered. Meena Kumari was, of course, too ill to do much dancing, so most of the long shots are actually of Padma Khanna dancing instead of her.

    I can’t wait to see your next post!

  2. Ghulam Mohammed who once worked as assistant to Naushad perhaps composed his career’s milestone with ‘Pakeezah’ only to be rivalled by his compositions in Bharat Bhusan-Suraiya starrer ‘Mirza Ghalib’ .This duet by Mohd.Rafi-Lata is a delight.Meena Kumari who herself was passing through a tormented phase in her personal life ironically with the maker of the film,Kamal Amrohi at the point of time perhaps resulted in this lively portrayal of the charachter.Meena Kumari penned down some pathos -ridden poetry which was recited by her with Music by Khaiyyam which was later released as an Album which is a testimony of her real life that is akin to the characters shed played in movies earning the epithet of ‘The Tragedy Queen’.I enjoyed this post.

  3. After ‘Inhi logon ne’ this song is my second favourite from Pakeezah, it was also played a lot in the British movie movie ‘east is east’
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/East_Is_East_(film)

    Ghulam Mohammed deserved the filmfare best music director for this film, Pran is said to have given up his best supporting actor award for be-imaan as he felt Ghulam Mohammed was robbed of the Best music director award which was awarded to Shankar Jaikishen for Be-imaan

    To think of it, 27years down the line most people still remember and sing the songs of Pakeezah while that of Be-imaan isn’t even as popular or nearly as memorable

  4. Dustedoff, thank you for the nice word about anticipation of my next post. I hope I can meet your expectations. :)

    I was aware for sometime of Padma Khanna doing most of the dancing for Meena. It is a shame that Meena had to rely on a “playback dancer” and one can’t blame her if she was plauged by illness, but I also get the impression that Padma Khanna didn’t get sufficient credit for her role in this. (Maybe she did and I’m wrong about that – but I get the impression that there are lots of people these days who don’t even know about her role in it.)

    Veda, it is good to hear that you enjoyed this post, and thank you for the extra info…

    And I have to add, I don’t know what to think of Kamal Amrohi. Granted, Meena had her own weaknesses, etc., but I get the impression that he was a big contributor to her decline. Still, I’ve got to admire what he did as a director. I positively loved Mahal too…

    Bollywooddeewana, it is difficult to pick out favorite songs from this great soundtrack, but I guess my no. 1 and 2 correspond to yours. I could listen to “inhi Logon Ne” over and over again. Though I would grant most of the other songs are just as great; they’re just not as catchy. :)

    I have mentioned that I had to drop Pakeezah from my “Filmi Favorites” list because I made the closing year of that list 1971 and then I learned for certain that Pakeeza had come out in the first couple of months of 1972 (though some people had claimed it came out in ’71). It’s just as well, because if I had to consider this film too, that would have complicated everything… But it could be my favorite film, and most definitely is my favorite Hindi film soundtrack, to come out after 1971. :)

  5. Not very big on the movie, but the songs are absolute classics. Love them all. Read your write up about Rajkumari and how she got to sing “Nazariya Ki Maari”

    BTW, since you have not linked to it. Here is the original version of “Inhi Logon Ne” when they started the shoot in 1956

    Also the original Chalo Dildar chalo can be downloaded on the songs.pk website [Sorry about the link to the site]

  6. I saw this movie when I was really young. Would love to see it again. I love how they directed the photography of chalo dildar chalo..with the sail as a cover…also liked how her braid sticks out from her sari when her back faces us in the boat.

    Thanks for posting the subtitled version. I finally found out what they were saying in the song. I really should get this dvd and watch it again with subtitles.

    I am not a fan of Rajkumar and never liked his wooden performance in all movies. He seemed like an idiot. Also didn’t like his gun toting roles that he mostly played. Always has have a horse in the movie along with him.

  7. Srinivas, thanks for the link. Yes, I have seen that clip before. It is very interesting to see scenes from Pakeezah shot 16 years before the release of the finished film, and it would be great if, somehow, someone could find and post the whole song (or a few whole songs from 1956).

    Thanks re. “Chalo Dildar Chalo.” I’ll go to that site sometime soon and look for it. Right now, though, my computer is recovering from a major crash, and with all those ads, etc., I’m a little concerned that that site might impede its recovery. :)

    I’m glad, btw, that you saw my post about Rajkumari in “Nazariya Ki Maari.” This is a truly remarkable soundtrack – in addition to the great songs in the foreground that were written by Ghulam Mohammed, you have all those songs in the background composed by Naushad after GM’s death… It’s no wonder that just about nobody can say a bad thing about the music, whatever people might think of the film.

    Hema and Dustedoff, I’m afraid I still have some big gaps in my knowledge about Indian film stars, so I didn’t even know that there ever was a fascination with Raj Kumar!

    Certainly, there were other stars in the film worth some fascination – in addition to Meena, there was Ashok Kumar, Nadira, etc. Actually, I expected a fine performance from these actors, but the one who really surprised me with a great performance was Veena Sapru (mainly because I hadn’t heard all that much about her).

    You know, I think I got to like Pakeezah more with the second and partial third viewing (plus, I looked at some scenes a few more times than that…). It wasn’t the actors or the plot that started to fascinate me most (especially not the general plot); it was the great dialogue (which must have come through very well in these subtitles) and the general atmosphere, the visual details, the whole presentation – for which I think we can credit Kamal Amrohi and the cinematographer Josef Wirsching. Both had worked on Mahal, which is another real favorite of mine.

    By the way, do people still talk these days about “goth”? I became something of a goth in my late teens and ’20s, back in the ’80s, especially with regard to my favorite music and theatrics, and I think that tendency still sticks with me a lot. And to me, Kamal Amrohi had to be the ultimate goth filmmaker… The goth element in Mahal is intentional, deliberate, and obvious… In Pakeezah, it’s more scattered among other things, but it’s definitely there.

    I love the beginning, when Nargis goes off to give birth and die in the graveyeard. Wow!

  8. Thanks again for posting this song. Despite my dislike for Raj Kumar, in this scene he did a pretty good job of maintaining the romance of the moment in the boat. This type of romantic scene is sorely lacking these days. So it is nice to have been reminded of this. Any other movies where the actors don’t do the singing while playback is going on?

Leave a Reply

