4 comments on “S. Janaki on Sridevi in Adutha Vaarisu (1983)

  1. I can see why it picked up your mood. It didn’t do a thing for me and I did’t get past 10 sec….perhaps I should watch something with a Shammi, Rajesh or Dilip and that might pick up MY mood…:-)

  2. Sorry you couldn’t watch this one… Actually, I think there is more to it for me than simply the visual appeal of Sridevi (even with her fine dancing). I enjoy Ilaiyaraaja’s music quite a bit… He is one of my favorite filmi composers from the period starting in the late ’70s/early ’80s (and my favorite south Indian film composer from that time onward)… I find the song very catchy, and I also appreciate the singing of S. Janaki.

    The combination of these three is highly regarded, so I have learned. There was one song they all did together that got S. Janaki a big award. (For info on that and other things, see http://www.sjanaki.com/)

    S. Janaki is regarded as a “melody queen” from the south. And while my favorite from that era and region has been P. Susheela, I’m getting to like S. Janaki more too.

    I’ll be the first to admit it when I repeatedly return to a scene mainly for the visual enjoyment of the dancer/actress, but honestly, I went back to this one a couple of times mainly because the music was running through my head.

  3. I was actually just kidding that you watched only for Sridevi. I am not a big fan of S Janaki. I am not that great a fan of P Susheela either. The earlier singers were great. Jikki, P Leela and of course P Bhanumati.

    Thanks for posting this.

  4. Oh, OK. :)

    I tend to like the earlier south Indian film scores a lot too…

    I love P. Leela’s singing in some of the early Padmini numbers, which I was not watching just for Padmini! (Just kidding – of course I watched those movies and those clips first and foremost to see Padmini!)

    The beginning of this song above actually reminded me a little of Padmini’s (very deliberately south Indian) dance to “Are Tu Kahan Kho Gaya” in the Bollywood movie Singapore (vocals by Lata, music by Shankar-Jaikishan), but here Ilaiyaraaja’s music veers away from those traditional south Indian instruments, into an electronic sequence, which is very Ilaiyaraaja, and which I also like.

Leave a Reply

