6 comments on “Another Nice one from Parineeta – for Meena Kumari’s Birthday

  1. O wow! Where did you dig this up? I remember this from watching the movie on Indian TV long ago, but was puzzled not to find it on my DVD. I am so glad to see it.

    And Happy Birthday to Meena Kumari!

  2. Such a lovely song – and there’s so much I like about it: Meena Kumari’s beautiful, Ashok Kumar’s handsome in that very brief appearance (which is saying a lot: I’m not a fan of Dada Moni’s looks, even though I think he’s a superb actor), and that little girl is a doll.

    Thank you so much for posting this.

  3. Dustedoff, you are very welcome. And regarding:

    “I’m not a fan of Dada Moni’s looks, even though I think he’s a superb actor”

    …Strangely enough, that’s not the first time I’ve heard a comment like that. :)

    Bollyviewer, I guess I dug this up in a Parineeta YouTube search. It is so strange that they simply omitted it from the DVD!

  4. Richard, Mukul Kesavan, writing about Hindi film actors, described Ashok Kumar as looking like a “wardrobe wearing a dressing gown”! Well, I wouldn’t go so far as to say that, but I get the idea. ;-)

  5. i love the film,meena”s acting is superb as always,she is one of the best and Ashok kumar is not bad either.

  6. Thanks for the comments, Sarah. I agree that Meena is one of the best, but regarding Ashok, I’d have to say that he is more than “not bad,” because he is one of the best too! There’s also another one of the best in this movie, Gopi Krishna (well, one of the best dancers, though I haven’t been very impressed by him as an actor so far). Too bad he got only one dance.

Leave a Reply

