9 comments on “The Academics Are In Love With Pakeezah

  1. Oh, I so love this song. I like the fact that the music is understated, it’s her voice that rules. One of my favourite filmi mujras. Thank you for posting this!

  2. Thanks for the links on ‘Pakeezah’ giving a erudite discussion on this brilliant movie of Indian Cinema.This swansong of Meena kumari with compositions by Ghulam Mohammed and Naushad ;who gave the finishing touch after the demise of Ghulam.The impeccable scre complemented the narrative of the movie which makes it a classic.

    A protege of Naushad, Ghulam Mohammed ironically could not survive to see the success of his score.In fact he composed a number of songs for the movie and the very best were handpicked by Kamal Amrohi.

    Nontheless remaining nine songs recorded , but never used in the movie were also equally appealing.HMV/EMI released a LP in the 70’s with these unused songs titled ‘Rang Barang’.It has also a version of ‘Chalo dildar chalo’ sung by Lata Mangeshkar.The Album however is yet to be released in CD format.

  3. Dustedoff and Veda, you’re both very welcome.

    Dustedoff, I love this song too, but credit the cinema studies people who are putting a still from it on their announcement and blog… I posted this song to match the picture, because I knew where the picture was from. :)

    Veda, thanks for sending interesting facts, as you so often do. I didn’t know there was an album with nine Ghulam Mohammed songs that hadn’t been included in the movie. I did know about the Lata Mangeshkar version of “Chalo Dildar Chalo,” and here it is on YouTube:

  4. Thanks for the information.

    It prompted me to look for Youtube,if any enterprising fan has uploaded
    these songs from the LP.

    To my surprise all these songs are on Youtube.

    Here is the link to my Lata favorite from the LP – ‘Tanhai sunaya karti hai’

    The channel provides all these unused songs.

  5. Thanks for this post, i’ve long loved this film and as i’ve read on the web once and i myself have long thought to myself this film is a work or art, yes i have heard and i am aware of all the feminist arguements but i believe this film is best enjoyed as a work or art

  6. Veda, thank you for that link! I listened to a handful of these “unused” songs, and I agree that they are equally appealing – I greatly enjoyed them.

    Bollywooddeewana, glad you loved this movie so much too. I agree it can be enjoyed as a work of art, with the best work or best performances by some real artists.

  7. Vinayak, that is an interesting post – I may comment more on it sometime later. And by the way, sorry it too so long for your comment to go up. (I didn’t know it was waiting for my approval… WordPress is changing things around on the admin page again, I think it’s generally confusing me. :)

Leave a Reply

