10 comments on “The Five Songs That I’ve Watched The Most Times Consecutively

  1. Hi Richard, how is the moving going? I like your choice of songs, but I noticed it’s not really a choice, because in a weird way the clips choose you, and then your hooked and can’t stop watching. Anyway, I also noticed that you like happy songs which is perfectly normal, its just that your choices made me realise that I’m probably more romantic and I like the sad songs alot. Weird, I know. But I like all your choices, especially I LOVE the Amar Deep song, the music in the film is so good. Anyway, have a nice day!

  2. Hi, Stella_1, nice to hear from you! Re. your observation, I wouldn’t say I like happy songs more than sad songs. I was going to write more about what determines whether the song gets played over and over again, and I think some criteria are that the song is usually short, lively, and catchy. That isn’t always the case, but those seem to be, for me, things that contribute to multiple plays in a row. (I have noticed that all but one of the songs above is between two and three-and-a-half minutes long.) And that’s a little different from my favoirte songs or the best songs (though there is overlap).

    Anyway, I wouldn’t call the songs in this list happy, either. For one thing, “Dor Koi Gaye,” though an in-love song, is also about the pain of love, especially when there are obstacles – i.e., social pressures – against this love. Is “Meri Ankhon Ki Neend Le Gaya” a happy song? (It’s lively, but I’ve never seen subtitles for the song, so I don’t know – and it occurs during a very not-happy moment in the film.) And the “honorable mention” song, “Hume Bhi Do De Sahara” from “Seema,” is not happy at all – it shows the girl (played by Nutan, of course) enduring a state of poverty, being tempted out of desperation to pick up a coin that has been tossed to a poor singing/dancing troupe (which includes children) performing in the street. I think the lyrics to this song have to do with the importance of being decent to other human beings, holding up high principles, etc.

    By the way, I thought of including one truly sad song, “Aayega Aayega Ane Wala,” because I’ve listened to that song more times in a row than a few of the ones above, but I haven’t actually watched it more times. (I think one reason is that I don’t often go to the DVD for that one and there are several different clips around, varying a lot in length, and I never got fixed on one particular clip at one time. Also, though Ashok Kumar is great in that and Madhubala is pretty, it’s a song that I enjoy more without the visuals, with my eyes closed!)

  3. iF I HAD TO PICK SONGS I’VE PLAYED OBSESSIVELY iNHI LOGON NE from pakeezah AND jAB PYar KIYA TO DARNA KYA from Mughal e azam WILL BE IN THE TOP 3 as well as this one below

  4. I just had time to “watch” your post today. Nice choice! That 3 minute limit – approx- actually existed in the days of the 78 rpm records, so maybe some of just go back to that era :)

    It set me thinking about the ones I have most watched. And they mostly turn out to be non-filmi, surprising, I hadn’t really thought of them that way. One you already know is
    5) Zila Khan’s “Aah to dard chahiye” that I posted in an earlier comment.

    4)The others are: Noor Jehan all the way for the singing!

    3) A tie between two by Mallika Pukhraj & Tahira Syed (the other one- Abhi to main jawan hoon is the one I have heard/sung most in my life, having played it over and over again in its 78 rpm format as a teenager, but this one I love too

    2) K L Saigal is another favourite and I simply cannot have enough of this song of his

    1) Finally, Farida Khanum, and her live performances! This I like even better than the original film version, which was from the film Baji – 1963- and sung by Noor Jehan & Farida Khanum. Richard, there’s a short clip available: one the few classical dancing sequence in a Lollywood movie.

    I have had to miss out Mehndi Hassan’s Pyar bhare do sharmile nain & rafta rafta woh meri hasti , becuase I listen to them more than I watch. I have not included any Lata, Asha, Rafi, etc. etc. mostly because I have tons of their CDs/cassttes and tend to listen to them around the house and in the car.

    And I have kept out Punjabi numbers deliberately: thats another post!

  5. Bawa and Bollywood Deewana, if I expanded the list from five to ten, “Muj Se Pehil Si Mohabbat” and “Inhi Logon Ne” would both easily make it! (And they might have made the top five too, but as you see, I have been very focused on stuff coming out before 1960. :)

    I’ll get back to your other suggestions and comments in a little while…

  6. Bawa, that is a very nice list that you supplied. I have actually watched the Noor Jehan and Fardia Khanum film clip from Baji a number of times already, and I love it!


    http://youtube.com/watch?v=_1KjmmgdZ8s

    (And at this point, that should come as no surprise. :)

    The live version is good, but I have to say, I still like the film version more, not only because of Noor but because of the great dancing.

    I have also watched one song from Street Singer a number of times, but the one you supplied isn’t it (though it certainly is a good one). This is the one:

    Regarding listening to vs. watching, yes, sometimes the songs that are as good or even better have to be disqualified from this sort of list because we enjoy listening to them so much even when we don’t have a computer or DVD player or video player handy to watch them on. :) Certainly, some Lata songs would qualify in that way for me too (I’ve already mentioned one) and some Noor songs.

  7. The original song in Baji is a really nice dance, and I guessed you would like it more. It is just that Farida Khanum was such an amazing performer with such a zest and looking as if she was having a ball on stage.

    Btw, thanks for taking away the actual youtube video window, I was afraid of overpowering the comments section.

    The Street Singer song that you have given is so sweetly filmed. The songs were all brilliant. Babul Mora’s lyrics always touch me, and then others have sung it, Pt Jasraj in a classical mode, and Jagjit Singh in his style for another 70s film. I shall try and send you a translation but maybe it touches me more as a woman!

    Do listen to the others and tell me what you think. At that age I wanted to look just like Tahira Syed: despite all the cms and much else that I am missing!

  8. Bawa, I never took away the YouTube video windows in your post – they just never showed up in the first place! I took away the window in Bollywood Deewana’s post for consistency. (Bollywood Deewana, hope you don’t mind.) I don’t know any other way of removing the YouTube window with certainty except deleting the “www”; that’s how you’ll know if I took out the window.

    Your post was held for approval for some reason; maybe that’s why the clips didn’t show.

    For a while, I was going to become resigned to letting WordPress convert every YouTube link to the actual clip, but since it’s not even doing so consistently, I am leaning once again toward making sure that the links aren’t left as clips. (But if the links in everyone’s comments are converted to clips and they fit nicely, I’ll leave it. I think the conversions worked out well in comments to the “Women on Swings” posts; I just would rather have a choice in the matter – especially if it’s going to happen randomly anyway!)

  9. Back to Bollywood Deewana…

    Glad you liked the scene from Amar Deep. Though just to clarify for everyone, the movie has fine dancing by Padmini and Vyjayanthimala, but that scene stars Padmini and Ragini (with Johnny Walker as backup musician and MC and Dev Anand, etc., looking on).

    And thanks for the song selections… As I’ve mentioned, I agree wholeheartedly with you regarding “Inhi Logo Ne”! The Sridevi one is nice, though I tend to get hooked more on clips where she does a lot of dancing… And “Jab Pyar Kiya To Darna Kiya” is a good one, though I admit that I’ve watched the equivalent scene from Pakistan more often:

Leave a Reply

