I’ve been looking at, and listening to, a lot of stuff from Lollywood this past day (yes, looking for something a little different…), but it’s getting late now and I wanted to post something, so I’m going to cut the theme short.  That is to say, I’m not going to try to post a whole lot of stuff connected to the old Sufi poem “Terey Ishq Nachaya” by Baba Bulleh Shah (I’m not even going to get into the old movie by that name that had vocals by Noor Jehan – though I might do so in another post), because tonight/this morning, I just wanted to mention two things from contemporary Pakistan that really caught my attention…

First, a fine dance by the mujra dancer Nargis, with Naseem Vicky.  I like Nargis a lot…  She is even a bit different (and funny and charming) when she does the usual bawdy stage mujra bit, but she is even more unique when she does this sort of thing once in a while…

…And then there’s the film that this particular (version of the) song comes from, the 2006 film Majajan, featuring the Lollywood actress Saima, who also produced the film, and the actor Shaan, who is the dancer in this great scene below.  I guess the scene is exceptional mostly because you don’t usually see the guy dancing with bells on his ankles while the woman in the scene plays the singer-musician.  But it’s also a very good dance, and there is really nice singing by Azra Jahan.

Reading about this film a little, I see that it was directed by Syed Noor, written by his older wife, Rukshana Noor (apparently, he made Saima his younger wife sometime during the filming), with music by Wajid A. Nashaad.  Most of the songs look pretty good; it looks OK for a contemporary film, and I see there hadn’t been many good films coming out of Pakistan in recent years…  It would be nice to find a copy of this film with English subtitles (unlikely, though, but it’s worth a thought, I guess).

