16 comments on ““Shola Jo Bhadke”

  1. I love this song and I love the dancing in the old films, where the people move far more than the camera, not the opposite, as now.

  2. With translation graciously provided by Ava.

    This may not be the best song in the 12 song soundtrack (although I won’t argue with anyone that says it is), but it’s probably the best known. Music Director C. Ramchandra (who also provides the male voice on Bhagwan, along with Lata on Geeta Bali) sets it to a Caribbean calypso beat, infuses it with the aura of the South Seas, and comes up with an infectious and peppy tune that I can’t get enough of. Like bawa, I also love this song. Thanks for spotlighting it, Richard.

  3. Lovely song and Geeta Bali reminds me of a mix of Urmila Matondkar & Sridevi. Thanks a lot for the saiyan link i Love it. Were you/ Are you a Spice Girl fan too :0) its amazing how cultures borrow from one another, ain’t it. Your knowledge of Indian/Pakistani Pop as well as filmi dances is so awesome

  4. Yes, I love this song too.

    Bawa, that is so true about how “the people move far more than the camera, unlike the opposite, as now.” :)

    Tom, you’re welcome. For me at this point, any clip will have a greater chance of being spotlighted when the music director is C. Ramchandra! BTW, curious that you say this might not be the best song on the soundtrack but haven’t said what the best one might be. :) I really like the previous one I posted, and there’s another good one that I have in mind for a possible “Kitchen Music” post.

  5. And now a long comment in response to Bollywooddeewana (somewhat related to our exchange at his own …& How I Fell In Love With Bollywood post):

    Bollywooddeewana, thank you for the nice words. But my “amazing” knowledge of Indian/Pakistani pop and filmi dances has odd limits. I know of contemporary stuff mostly outside of the mainstream movies, and I obsessively gained knowledge of Bollywood music and dances only from the ’40s and ’50s. Meanwhile, my Bollywood knowledge has big gaps – for example, when you mentioned Urmila Matondikar, I simply had no picture in my mind; I had to look her up in Wikipedia! (Sridevi is different since I consciously sought out Sridevi films at one point, and I know a lot of them. :)

    I do have good knowledge of fusion music going back a long way, probably since I was a small child hearing George Harrison, and I was pretty involved in the Asian [technoish] Underground from the early ‘90s on, which included Bally Sagoo. Then later in that decade (wow, is it that long ago already?), I had a Pakistani girlfriend for a relatively brief time, who encouraged me to check out lots of music, both fusion and original/traditional Subcontinental music (especially things from Pakistan), though it was sort of an indirect encouragement, just nudging my own already developed enthusiasms. (She played a lot of traditional/classical music that she had on tape (plus she loved classical dance), but she rarely even identified composers or artists, while I was the one who picked out particular artists and composers to play for her (and for me lots of times).) And after that time, in my musical tastes, there was no turning back – though I could digress to other cultures more than I do now :)… Of course, then in the 2000s, there was that confluence of events for me: a move to Jackson Heights (where there are many Indian DVD stores), acquisition of a better computer connection with much easier YouTube, a two-year infatuation with M.I.A. and her Tamil filmi samples… Well, there you have it (in response to your own very interesting blogthday post), more of my own story of influences on the present obsessions…

    Though I certainly have my own history of seemingly highly incongruous pop influences too. No, I never was really a fan of the Spice Girls (I just knew about that sample), but I also was a bit old by the time they came out :) …

    My first rock’n’roll crush was Debbie Harry, when I was about 15. I guess that’s the closest thing I could mention to your affinity for the Spice Girls :) – though Blondie was considered a little underground/avant-garde at the time – for no reason I can understand, except that maybe any rock/pop that wasn’t as boring as most mainstream ‘70s music was considered underground. (Though, OK, they did come out of that legendary club CBGB, a scene that I found awe-inspiring when I was a teenager.)

    And, for what it’s worth (certainly not enough to pay the rent), I was a semi-professional rock/pop critic through some of the ’80s and the ’90s, writing reviews of lots of records or CDs, etc., especially for magazines that focused on “alternative” pop and rock. So, this means that I got lots of practice at researching and writing about particular things that I like in order to make it look as though I know more about music(s) in general than I really do :) .

  6. Awesome! Thanks Richard for ferreting out all these. I don’t like Geeta Bali at all though.

  7. Sophy, interesting that you don’t like Geeta Bali, since there are some people out there, I know, who worship her. It would be interesting to hear some of your reasons why you don’t like her. (I know I haven’t always seen the most glowing opinions of her off camera. Balraj Sahni was pretty funny talking about her in his memoirs, as I recall – fairly flattering about her appearance, but definitely not about her personality. :)

    I’m not that big a Geeta Bali fan myself, though I kind of like her. (I was impressed with her the first time I saw her, when I saw Baazi, but other things just haven’t led me to seek out Geeta Bali films all that much.) In the scenes from Albela, I think I find Bhagwan more interesting to watch, though the biggest attraction for me, really, is C. Ramchandra.

  8. I am not sure about Geeta Bali as a person, but I find that she has “something extra graceful” in her dancing. She is not a dancer in the classical conventional sense, but I find her movements so fluid… and she has a very expressive face, that for me does great justice to Geeta Dutt’s equally expressive singing, in particular.

    I know that Geeta dutt sang for so many heroines that I like, but any song by her always brings Geeta Bali to my mind, even when I know the song wasn’t picturised on her.

    Somehow I always thought well of her, maybe because one would want handosme Shammi to have a wife with character!

  9. Yes, it’s true, there can be something very nice about Geeta Bali’s dancing – I have been surprised by her in that way because I do not really consider her to be a dancer. And it’s true also about the expressive face, especially those famous eyes. (Tom pointed that out to me in a note off-blog a long while back.) But as for Geeta Dutt, no, I don’t exactly have that association. There are many other actresses I think of just off the top of my head who did great songs with Geeta Dutt’s voice: Padmini, Waheeda Rehman, Meena Kumari, Helen, Minoo Mumtaz…

  10. One of my favortie Geeta Dutt songs, “Babuji dheere chalna” is picturized on Shakeela so that is my association.

    My dislike for Geeta Bali mostly has to due to personal associations.
    And Richard, you mentioned her eyes. That is the most unfortunate part of my irrational dislike for Geeta Bali. I will also mention that some looks that are quiite exotic in the west may be seen as commonplace or unattractive because of that in India. Many Indians do not think there is anythig special about Frieda Pinto. My convent school headmistress, a nun from the same community as Frieda, looked just like her. Every time I see Frieda, that is what I think. Geeta was probably a very nice person. I know she helped out Rajesh Khanna when he was pounding the pavement in his Mercedes.

  11. Sophy, are you saying that some looks are favored in the west because they are more distant from western appearances (hence “exotic”) whereas they are more commonplace in India? It could be. But I’ve also seen accusations in the reverse direction – that people outside of India favor certain Indian beauty queens because they look more like western women. I’ve seen people say this about Aishwarya Rai, because of her green eyes, etc. (I once saw somebody on YouTube contrast her with Shobana, who was supposedly the real Indian beauty, underappreciated in the west. I thought that was a rather silly hypothesis… I actually prefer Shobana’s looks myself, but then, she does have Padmini’s genes. :)

    And that’s pretty funny re. Freida Pinto and your convent school nun. I never saw her as being anything that special either. In my opinion, there was a more attractive woman featured in Slumdog Millionaire, but she never appeared in front of the camera; we just got to hear her voice in a couple of songs.

  12. Though Bhagwan looks awful, he had a sense of rhythm.
    I love this song!
    my mother always used remniscise about Bahgwan, how she used to watch his films and that his songs were a big craze in Dadar. Bhagwan also used to live in Dadar.

  13. I absolutely love Geeta Bali and can’t think of anything about her that would make people not like her. But hey, people are bound to have different opinions.
    According to Baburao Patel, her mother-in-law didn’t like her as well! :-)At least the things I have read about Geeta Bali, were all nice. I read Balraj Sahni’s autobiography nearly twenty years back. So can’t remember what he says.
    Now I’m very curious about the nasty stuff about her. ;-)

  14. Hi, Harvey. Regarding Balraj Sahni on Geeta Bali… As I recall, he complained that she was unpleasant to him and made nasty cracks about having to act with him, because he wasn’t the level of hero that she wanted to work with and she felt that this was a sign of her own decline as an actress. Balraj’s take was that well before her tragic demise, Geeta Bali was on her way to being a has-been and was vain about that. But he did say that she looked very beautiful. :) (BTW, I’ll see if I have any copy, in print or on a disc somewhere, that I can quote from. Unfortunately, as a few people have reminded me by complaining :) , the link I had up to his autobiography no longer works.)

  15. O really! it is funny though that he should mention ‘not being a hero enough’ of all reasons.
    As far as I know Geeta Bali worked for the greater part of her career with lesser known heroes. If one goes through her list of films at imdb, you hardly recognize the heroes and if you do, they are at the beginning of their careers.
    Bhagwan for example always mentions this fact in his interviews of better said used to mention, since he passed away a few years back.
    All the same I regard Balraj Sahni very highly. his dialogues in Baazi are great and so are his acting skills!

Leave a Reply

