5 comments on “And a slightly belated happy birthday to Asha Bhosle, who turned 77 on Sep. 8

  1. Belated happy Birthday,Asha!
    A fabulous singer with a wide range, though I think both the sisters should graciously retire and not say that they have just become choosy!

  2. “I think both the sisters should graciously retire”

    So true, Harvey. Listening to any of the songs Richard has embedded here – or to songs like Aayega aanewaala, and then comparing them to later songs, I can’t help but wince at how raucous Asha and Lata can sound in more recent songs. There’s nothing wrong with retiring… in fact, much recommended!

  3. If it wasn’t for you I would never have known that a Harry Belafonte song got translated into Hindi and picturised on Helen to boot. Nice.

    Thanks for digging these up.

  4. You’re welcome, Hema, and thank you for the nice words!

    Though I shouldn’t take all the credit for “digging up” the “Harry Belafonte Helen song”… I don’t think I knew about it before I saw it on the first Tommydan1 page on YouTube. (And then I “inherited” it and a few others for YouTube when his page got knocked out…)

    Also, I guess technically, this isn’t really a translation of the Harry Belafonte song; it’s just inspired by it. :)

Leave a Reply

