7 comments on ““Kaate Na Kate…” – Asha on Padmini and Runa on Rani

  1. Yes it is indeed Raj Kapoor!
    He has this knack of spoiling good ‘semi-classical’ songs with his antics. A bad good example is the wonderful ‘Laga chunair me daag’ from dil hi to hai sung by Manny Dey.
    He might also be impersonating Bahadur Shah Zafar, who is also portrayed a bit effeminate in Ray’s Shatranj ke Khilari.

  2. Intresting re. Bahadur Shah Zafar… I wouldn’t go so far as to say Raj Kapoor spoils these songs… Anyway, were it not for Raj Kapoor, we wouldn’t be seeing Padmini dancing to this number, so I’ll put up with a little silliness from Raj Kapoor. :)

  3. u r right he is just silly here, but he spoils laga chunari mein daag for me very much. a good parody/interpretation of laga chunari me daag is done by anupam kher in lamhe!

  4. Wow, I’m floored- had no idea Padmini did a colorized Mujra in her later years! I had been under the impression that she only did Mujra dances in Kalpana (the non-Uday Shankar one), but I’m not nearly as well-versed in all her dances as you are so I’ve probably missed a couple. :) But what a delightful song, and they even do the “double” effect in the same frame at the end. I think her skirt is the widest I’ve ever seen draped around her as she sits on the floor! And I too thought… “is that… Raj Kapoor?” I’m surprised at how graceful he is! Didn’t know he had it in him! And great to see him in Laga Chunari Mein Daag as Harvey commented.

  5. I don’t remember this in the film as well. mimd you, I haven’t seen it for a long long time, so could be wrong.

  6. Bawa, did you see it as a film showing or on DVD?

    Could it be that the scene was removed from a film print at some point even before it went onto DVD? (I thought that it was just the usual case of a thoughtless DVD company removing one of the best songs in the movie – there have been plenty of examples of that.)

    It certainly looks like Mera Naam Joker visually, and I confirmed that this song is on the soundtrack.

    I saw another DVD version of Mera Naam Joker on the shelves in a DVD store a couple of years ago; I think it was a Yash Raj release(?)… Maybe that version includes this song.

Leave a Reply

