11 comments on “Baby Meena Kumari in Sister (1941)

  1. Awwww… she’s so cute! There is a definite resemblance to the grown-up Meena Kumari, but I’m not sure I’d have recognised her if you hadn’t pointed her out. :-)

  2. Thanks for this clip, its so grerat to see Meena as a little girl, i think i’d have recognised her quite easily without you pointing her out, Here’s wishing you a Happy 2011

  3. Glad you all like that Baby Meena scene! I agree with Dustedoff that there is a resemblance but I can’t be sure I would have recognized her had she not been pointed out in the YouTube post… I think she was pretty recognizable in the Lal Haveli scene that I posted before, from about three years later.

    Bollywooddeewana, are you sure you would have recognized her so easily? :)

    Well, anyway, happy 2011 to you too – and everyone!

  4. Well, I would definitely have thought…she looks like a very young Meena kumari, especially that sideway look up at her sister sometime just after she has started to sing. :-)

    Great find Richard.
    Quite a New Year’s gift for me.
    Happy New Year to all!

  5. Pacifist, thanks – this “great find” and the prior Meena clip weren’t anything I was looking for; they were completely accidental. Though I knew Meena Kumari was in Lal Haveli (she also appears at the beginning of a song clip that I posted a while back), I found the last one while I was looking into that film for Noor Jehan’s death anniversary. And this time around, I went to Sister for an early Nalini Jaywant scene (which I posted in comments at Dustedoff), when I saw mention of another clip from the film with Baby Meena.

    Vidur, I had hoped that if I found a clip of Nalini from an early film, it might be a singing one, but it was just dialogue :( . But it was great to find Baby Meena singing instead! You had mentioned just before that she was a good singer, and she was! It would be great if you could find out or remember what movie that duet with Zohrabai was from.

    Anyway, I wasn’t exactly thinking of this as a New Year’s gift, but I can hardly think of a better way to start off 2011 than watching Hindi film clips from 70 years ago. :)

  6. Happy New Year Richard.

    I wouldn’t have recognized her–no way. Though the clip you showed in an earlier post was clearly her.

Leave a Reply

