15 comments on “Getting to Appreciate These Composers, Especially in Their Early Years: Laxmikant-Pyarelal

  1. I love Ooi ma ooi maa a lot too – in fact, Parasmani had a fantastic soundtrack, one of the few things about the film that I really liked! By the way, as far as I know, the lyrics for that particular song are by Asad Bhopali.

  2. Dustedoff, glad you have a high opinion of this soundtrack too. And thanks for the info about the lyricist. I see this is the same person who did lyrics for Afsana (1951)(?)… Apparently was around for quite a while. :)

  3. The Jal bin machli song is hard to see–with the fish gasping for breath. No, I didn’t like it.

  4. I think the clip was cut off too early; it didn’t show the part where she put the fish back in the water. But this got me thinking, maybe I should show this one to my cat – now, he might like it!

  5. Interesting in the Chinese Ooi ma, they reporduced the costumes faithfully including those long underpants for modesty. I’ve never met a Chinese person (and I’ve met lots) with any interest in Bolly dance whatsover. So all thiese reports have me wondering.

  6. I’ve never met a Chinese person (and I’ve met lots) with any interest in Bolly dance whatsover. So all thiese reports have me wondering.

    Maybe you should ask the “Hmong chick”:

    http://apunbindaas.blogspot.com/

    Interesting in the Chinese Ooi ma, they reporduced the costumes faithfully including those long underpants for modesty.

    Actually, I didn’t even notice the long underpants in the Chinese one… Maybe my eyes were distracted by all those cute exposed navels.

  7. That chinese version is too good! L-P did compose some very catchy songs :)

    I am unable to find the video for this fantastic ghazal from the film Gaman (1978).
    live:

    film version (audio only)

  8. @sophy: You have to read “From Heaven Lake” by Vikram Seth to see what Hindi cinema could do for you in China, even in the 70s and 80s.

  9. Thanks, Bawa, that is very nice (especially the audio clip – the audio in the live video is a bit off…). But I was trying to figure out how this could be a Laxmikant-Pyarelal song. And I see that, no, it’s a Jaidev Verma song (a bit different :) )…

  10. Its me going off-topic as usual, just some gems from the generally dire straits of late 70s music.
    And also a voice that I thought you might appreciate, a bit different from the usual ones used in the era.

  11. I can’t not like 70s. That is when I was a teen and being bombarded from all sides by this music. Pakeezah is a great fave of mine, Parasmani too. We watched Sandhya’s strange dances with mouths wide open.

    I can’t watch the videos right now, there is some prob with my comp. I will visit again later.

  12. Lovely post Richard I’ve long sang the praises of Laxmikant Pyarelal on my blog especially their work in the 70’s and 80’s, and that ooie ma song is gorgeous and dare i say it the chinese one almost outshines the original bollywood version , well maybe its the colours or perhaps the girls enthusiasm

  13. In mid sixties also we have some extremely melodious duets from the desk of Laxmikant-Pyarelal, Kishore Kumar-Lata Mangeshkar…
    –Khoobsurat Haseena Jan-E-Jaa Jaan-E-Man…”Mr. X In Bombay” 1965
    –Chali Re Chali Re Gori Paniyan …”Mr. X In Bombay”..1965
    –Sultana Sultana Tu Na Ghabarana..”Shreeman Fantoosh”..1966
    –Dil Hamne De Diya..”Pyar Kiye Jaa”..1966
    –Sunale Pyar Ke Dushman..”Pyar Kiye Jaa”..1966

    This was when Kishore Kumar was passing through the lean period of his musical carrier.

  14. Bollywooddeewana, glad you liked the post. And I agree, the Chinese “Ooi Maa” does outshine the original, because of the colors and liveliness – though, of course, the dancing is better in the original…

    Ava, I think since I was exposed to the ’70ss music at almost the same time as i discovered the ’50s music (and just a little before I discovered the ’40s :) ), I didn’t have the benefit of special memories prejudicing my decisions. (Hmm, did I actually hear any Indian film music when I was a child in the ’70s? Not sure… I remember, during those years, that I heard Ravi Shankar doing Indian music, sometimes with George Harrison, and then there was the live classical music at some of the Indian restaurant(s)… But no, not much exposure to Bollywood films that I can remember.)

    So, anyway, for whatever reasons, when I could take in all the decades more or less at once, I found the later decades a bit wanting compared to the earlier decades (and apparently, some people agree with me :) )… However, there has been at least some excellent music from all the decades.

    …Including L-P doing music for Shantaram/Sandhya films. :) Hope you got your computer working!

Leave a Reply

