10 comments on “Some [More] Favorite Egyptian Belly Dance Scenes

  1. What wonderfully graceful dancing! I haven’t watched all the videos you’ve posted – just bits and pieces of the last three – but this is something I’m going to return to, very soon. Thank you; loved that. (And have you noticed? I’m actually liking something because of the dancing, not the music or the singing. You’re converting me! ;-))

  2. Also, did you notice how long Fifi’s arms are? I heard/read somewhere that that’s an attractive feature in a woman, like facial symmetry, hip to waist ratio, etc..

  3. Dustedoff, I am very happy to hear I’m “converting” you. :) Yes, what graceful dancing, it is beautiful.

    Sita-ji, thank you for your vote. :) Wow, now that you mention it, she does have long arms. I never considered that to be a factor in a woman’s attractiveness. Maybe it is good for someone who does a dance, either Egyptian or Indian, in which there are a lot of arm movements. Is facial symmetry automatically considered an attractive feature? I think somebody in recent months mentioned the idea to me that Madhubala is so beautiful exactly because her face is a bit lopsided, which adds to the uniqueness of her looks. :)

  4. Someone – an American, by the way, married to an Indian – and an artist to boot – told me just the other day that facial symmetry is considered the hallmark of a beautiful face. This lady’s married to my brother-in-law, and happened to see the lobby card I’d bought of Helen from Dr Vidya. She had never come across Helen before, or not enough to remember, but she was fascinated by the lobby card because she thought Helen looked lovely. And that mainly because her face is “so perfectly symmetrical!”

  5. Interesting… Well, there’s a wide range of views about Helen’s looks. Some say she’s beautiful, others say she’s really not at all one of the great beauties but just has a lot of pep and charm. I’m in the latter category, though I think she was quite striking in some of her early pictures, when she was very young. (Which I don’t think is always the case… For instance, I think Vyjayanthimala looked better in the ’60s than she did in the early ’50s, and Padmini was much more beautiful in 1960 than in 1950. But with Helen, I do think that she might have declined somewhat in beauty as she further developed her unique style. :) )

  6. Yes, I don’t think of Helen as strictly beautiful either, though she has a lot of charm and there’s a certain attractiveness about her. Very early Helen (Howrah Bridge, Nau Do Gyarah) is too baby-faced for me to think her attractive, but seen in films like Gumnaam, Teesri Manzil or Dr Vidya, I think she’s quite lovely.

    And I agree completely about Vyjyantimala – I like her much better in the 60’s than in the 50’s!

  7. That was a real educational viewing of these clips. Long have I heard of belly dancing, and seen some inferior attempts, but these are excellent .
    So this is belly dancing!
    Their movements are amazing.
    My vote goes to Fifi abdou too, and would have given it to her instead of to Gamal Mubarak were I an Egyptian citizen, and Fidi had stood for elections :)

    Regarding beauty, I think it lies in the eyes of the beholder.
    I know its a cliché, but so true.

  8. Yes, I’m with you all symmetry is just one concept of a beauty standard, but I am more partial to an interesting look, ala a Picasso non- symmetrical look, well maybe not THAT extreme, but you get my drift. I think Madhubala, Vyjyantimala, and Helen all are lovely. Speaking of Helenji, watched her recently on “Jhalak Dihkla Jaa” watch at 1:50 here

    I wish my arms were longer!
    http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2010/09/29/women-with-long-arms-more_n_743822.html

  9. Good point,. Sita-ji, and thanks for that “Jhalak Dihkla Jaa” video. (There is a sweet moment in that, and interesting, considering the post that I was just about to post when I got that comment…if you know your Bollywood history :)… )

    Regarding the long arms issue, I don’t know. I don’t think I’ve ever said to myself anything like, “Wow, she beautiful – just look at those long arms!” I can’t think of anybody else who has ever been inclined to say such a thing, either. And I’ve actually heard a man criticized for his long arms, as a sign of evolutionary backwardness. :)

Leave a Reply

