13 comments on “Scenes from Miss Frontier Mail, Starring Fearless Nadia

  1. Thank you for finding that, Richard – it made for fun viewing! Wasn’t Miss Frontier Mail the film that had Fearless Nadia battle it out on top of a moving train too? (Or am I mixing it up with Hunterwali?) If it was Miss Frontier Mail that scene was in, I do wish Basheer Ahmed Khan had included it! I wonder where he got his hands on the film, though – or even just clips of it.

  2. You’re welcome, Dustedoff. Yes, I would have liked to see the battle on the moving train from Miss Frontier Mail also, but I don’t see it in the clips that are available. But I’ll keep looking…

    It would be interesting to find out how Basheer Ahmed Khan got this film or the clips from it… I was thinking that maybe it’s more possible to get the film in India, but I guess not(?)…

  3. I believe most of the films that Mary Evans made with Wadia Movietone aren’t commercially available… only some of the later ones, made with the other production house (I’ve forgotten its name now): films like Circus Queen, Jungle Princess or the one I reviewed, Baghdad ka Jaadoo. I haven’t seen any of the Fearless Nadia classics around, though there are perhaps pirated copies made from prints that had got left behind somewhere…

    I was reading about the sad demise of India’s first ‘talkie’, Alam Ara, on Google the other day. (Alam Ara would have been 80 years old a month or so back, so Google India did a special Google logo to mark the day). Apparently, the last print of Alam Ara was burnt in a fire – I knew that, but what I didn’t know was that there is a hope that some old theatres in Pakistan might actually still have an odd print lying about.

  4. That was such fun, Richard.
    Loved the single handed weight lifting. Did she really do it, I wonder. It seemed heavy.
    The fighting scene was unintentionally hilarious (or was it intentional??)
    The dialogue delivery of everyone was superb :)

    Dustedoff: that’s good news about Alam Ara’s print. Hope it exists and the Pakistanis will share it with us.

  5. Harvey and Pacifist, well, I can understand only a few words of that dialogue, but certainly, the delivery seems great! :)

    Pacifist, yes, I think the single-handed weight lifting scene is my favorite part of this video. :) And I can’t imagine that the fight scenes were intended not to be hilarious…

    By the way, the film was made in 1936.

    Dustedoff, I wonder if it would be possible to make a tally of how many important old Indian films were simply lost or destroyed. Anyway, yes, that will be nice if it turns up in Pakistan.

  6. Richard, I would guess the Film Archives have some sort of count – after all, a lot of the films that were made during the ’20s through to the ’40s (even the ’50s, I’d think) may not be available commercially, but the archives may have their prints.

    I hope Alam Ara turns up in Pakistan. That’ll be the day!

  7. I am quite hopeful that the print of Alam Ara would turn up in Pakistan somewhere. It is an interesting fact that if you visit Pakistan, many rare and old Indian films from 40s and 50s are readily available in Pakistan which aren’t even available in India. Most of these films are released by M M Video – Karachi and the songs from many of these are available on youtube with MM logo.

    Considering the popularity of Indian films in Pakistan, it is both nice and sad that rare and old Indian films are readily available in Pakistan, but old Pakistani films itself are hard to find. Many Pakistani films of 50s and 60s still remain unavailable even in Pakistan. Technically, Pakistani films are inferior to Indian films. The only exception is music.

    Pakistan’s first film Teri Yaad (1948) was also declared lost few years ago and the print of that film doesn’t exist in Pakistan. Then I read an unconfirmed report that one of the existing prints turned up in India at Begum Para’s house (Begum Para’s husband and Dilip Kumar’s younger brother Nasir Khan played the lead in that film), and few second clip from that film was shown on Zee Tv.

    I hope that Alam Ara’s print turns up in Pakistan somewhere, it would be an exciting day for all film lovers.

  8. @Richard
    >I can understand only a few words of that dialogue, but certainly, the delivery seems great!

    Richard, I don’t know about harvey, but I meant it in fun, involving some indulgence too, because the way they delivered the dialogue was so stilted and monotonous, without expression.
    But that’s the way they said their dialogues in the good old days. :)

  9. Mister Jinx, I have heard about old Indian films that are not available in India being available in Pakistan. But with regard to MM, didn’t they go out of business a couple of years ago? (Vidur, if you’re reading this… I got info from Tom that this was the problem with Village Girl, when the two of you “talked” about that one… While the one available, from Friends, is just missing too much…)

    Anyway, curiously, there is a store in New York City, at 73rd Street and Roosevelt, in Jackson Heights (of course), that specializes in Pakistani movie DVDs, and I’ve seen quite a few of the old Noor Jehan ones there… Chan We, Anarkali, Koel, Intezar (I think)… Unfortunately, none of the films are English-subtitled, except for Dupatta. (And since I am not doing well economically, if there are no subtitles, I can just as well find the same copy posted for free online…)

    That is my main complaint about the Pakistani films that I’ve found… As with many old South Indian films, I wish so much that they could be available with subtitles!

  10. I read this now :) Yes, I guess it misses two songs and probably more scenes (the movie, like all other popular movies of its time must be at least 2 hrs right? The Friends copy is only for 1 hr 36 min)

    Great scenes from Miss Frontier Mail….thanks a lot to our kind YouTube uploader Basheer Sir.

    I got 20 films from M M Video from Pak, as a fabulous gift by my kind Uncle from Bahrain….and guess what? Most of the films have been copied from Indian copies which have been stopped manufacturing.

    I realised it especially with Shanta Apte Ji’s Valmiki (1946) and Suraiya Ji’s Shokhiyan (1951). The video companies’ names (Nupur and Indus – both Indian) are clearly visible.

Leave a Reply

