9 comments on “Kathak Dances from British TV

  1. Lovely.
    Though I’m more an admirer of the classical dances of the south, I do appreciate Kathak, especially when I’m in the mood :)

    The third clip is exquisite. Such lovely and graceful movements. Not that the first two aren’t, but there’s just something special there. The dancer seems very young.

  2. Thanks, Pacifist. I agree with you on all your points. And I also know a bit more about Bharatanatyam than I do about Kathak now. (But still not sure when these dance names should be capitalized…or not. :) ) But after years of looking at so many Bharatanatyam dances, I’m actually more curious about what I can find in Kathak now. :)

    I agree with you about the dancer in the third clip, Sonia Kundi. It actually mentions in the YouTube post that she was young here. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find a clip of her when she got older. And hers is the most special dance here… Though, curiously, she was at this time training with Nahid Siddiqui, the dancer in the clip above that one.

  3. Harvey, thanks. Sorry about my delay in response, but I didn’t see your message right away because WordPress was holding it as “spam.” I guess a one-word comment like that is assumed to be spam. That was you, right? :)

  4. Lovely post, so nice to see Kathak. I just love Nahid Saddiqui! I remember she was one of the first Kathak dancers I watched when I discovered tripmonk0′s incredible channel. At that time I had posted another dance of her’s that looks like it was filmed in the same place as her video above, but then my account was shut down as you know! But I reuploaded it recently and am not sure if you’ve seen it- the music is so haunting and mesmerizing: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oV8t6hcJECs I find something very special in how she dances and the energy that seems to come from within.

    “I’m actually more curious about what I can find in Kathak now. :)” – I look forward to your wonderful posts about what you discover! I’m very interested to know more about Kathak as well.

    By the way, there are some fascinating comments on the Nahid Saddiqui video you posted above which talk about the apparent banning/reinstatement of Kathak in Pakistan and Nahid’s departure. This is the first time I’m hearing this! Had you heard that? That’s really a shame, I’m very curious to read more about what happened.

  5. Hi, Minai. It’s nice to see that you also know about and appreciate Tripmonk’s channel, and that you’ve been enjoying the dances of Nahid Siddiqui. Thank you for that splendid dance of hers… Yes, the music is quite mesmerizing. I don’t recall specifically watching that dance before, but I might have a while back, especially if it was on your old channel. :) I also recall looking at a bunch of Nahid Siddiqui’s dances on Tripmonk’s channel a while ago.

    I hadn’t read the YouTube comments about the banning of Kathak in Pakistan, and I didn’t know about it specifically. That is horrendous but not too surprising since it was under the regime of Muhammad Zia-ul-Haq (who apparently banned all Indian classical dance). I also see from those comments that the ban was lifted after Zia’s demise.

    Nahid left Pakistan and danced in the UK for 20 years, but she’s back in Lahore now, teaching dance there. I found a few pages with good information about her. This one has a nice interview:

    http://www.danka.pk/?var_action=artist_show&artist_id=1

  6. Insomniac,

    Thank you for the update letting us know that we can find Sonia Kundi, now under the name of Sonia Sabri. That’s a very good dance clip, too, and an interesting Web site.

    It’s also great to learn about another site where we can see Nahid Siddiqui!

    …And always good to hear from a “big Kathak fan”… Hope you’ll be sharing more dances with us!

Leave a Reply

