11 comments on “Here’s to the Treasure Worth Billions Found at the Padmanabhaswamy Temple!

  1. I guess…for the sake of beauty and historical preservation, etc…. Those kings were obviously pretty good at hoarding treasures. I admit I don’t know much else about them, but some of the stories I’ve seen are pretty grim. And then the New Kerala article says:

    Historian and veteran journalist M. Gopalakrishnan said that according to the legend the gold got accumulated in the temple because in the olden days people used to offer gold to seek pardon from the royal family.

    …Which just makes me want to shout, “Inquilab zindabad!” :)

  2. This is an avatar I had made for myself on WordPress once. Thandapani means cool water. For some reason its popping up again now.

  3. Actually this treasure news reminds me something that Lal Bahadur Shastri said while pushing the Green Revolution. Not the exact words – we will grow wheat at home in planters (gamla) if need be, but will not import it.

    This money belongs to the people, we are the ones who donate sums to the temple, what we need is the ability to see that we are able to generate enough money to meet our needs. It is just the unequal distribution of wealth that is causing havoc.

    But of course, as we know it, it is easier said than done.

  4. Hi, Ava. Yes, that is strange that it just seems to be popping up out of nowhere :) … Actually, I read “thandapani” as cold water and was wondering why you would call yourself cold water. I thought maybe you were having a too-hot summer or something like that…

  5. Oh, now I saw your second comment… Well said. I guess it is easier said than done. But would the people at the top of an unequal wealth distribution ever want to do that? And what is in place to prevent that from happening, how can that be changed, etc.? Maybe I shouldn’t get too much into my own thoughts about that here. :)

Leave a Reply

