5 comments on ““Suhana Hai Mausam Salona Mera Balam” (Asha’s first cabaret song)

  1. Asha’s first cabaret number? That sure is a find! Thank you, I enjoyed it! BTW Khayyam may be a better spelling for the composer’s name though there never seems to be a set standard for transliterated names.

  2. You’re welcome, Suja. I am glad you like the find, which was quite accidental. :)

    And thanks regarding the “h” – you’re right; I’ll do that now.

  3. This *is* a great find Richard.
    Footpath is a film I’ve been trying to get for some time now. It has Dilip Kumar and I believeit’s worth watching. That’s all I know about it. So this song is also the first one I’ve heard from the film. :)

  4. Ava, thanks for the recommendation… I know of a few soundtracks by him (I guess Umrao Jaan is the most famous?), but now I am going to have to pay closer attention :) …

    Pacifist, thanks for the good words re. Footpath. The first song I’d seen from this film was an Asha-Meena song, which I saw a couple of years ago. I thought of including it in my current Meena birthday post, but I decided not to because I had posted it on this blog a couple of times before. But now I see that the clip disappeared in one post and I don’t know exactly where the other post is… So I’ll post it again here… Once I saw this scene, I could not forget it. :)

Leave a Reply

