7 comments on “Seven More Favorite Meena Kumari Songs

  1. Ah, lovely songs, Richard. I especially like the last two – they’re among my favourite songs picturised on Meena Kumari (though I have a particular weakness for the songs from Pakeezah as well – each of them is an absolute gem).

  2. Thank you, Dustedoff, glad you like these. I’m glad, especially, that the last two are among your favorites (they are great). I agree about Pakeezah, too, but as I said at the beginning of this post, I had decided this time to skip “the most famous and obvious ones.” :)

  3. I’m so happy that you remembered Meena Kumari’s birthday :)
    That duet from Miss Mary is my favourite from the film too.
    I love the songs from Chitralekha, and would find it very difficult to name a favourite, but the dance with the song you’ve posted is the best.
    The Shamshad Begum song is delightful.
    In fact all the songs you have posted are among my favourites.
    There’s a film Aarti with music by Roshan. One of the beautiful songs is;

  4. Great choices as always! :) Shamshad Begum Ji sang for Meena Kumari Ji in at least 3 more films: Duniya Ek Sarai (1947 – video unavailable though), Sanam (1951 – in which she was opposite Gope Ji, essentially) and Naya Andaz (1956, alongside Kishore Kumar Ji – remember Meri Neendon Mein Tum for example?). Naya Andaz had music by O. P. Nayyar Ji and I thoroughly appreciate him for the very melodious, enjoyable and rare combination.

  5. To combine your last 2 posts may I post a favourite of mine? I think it has some of the most romantic lyrics ever. Meena Kumari sung to by Rafi…

  6. Thanks, Bawa. It is very sweet looking and nice sounding… Unfortunately, I don’t think I can get the full romanticism of the lyrics without subtitles (not yet…maybe someday…).

    Meena’s expressions are great, as often is the case. Pradeep Kumar is nice in this too. (I know some people don’t like him much, but he’s grown on me; I like him in a bunch of things.)

Leave a Reply

