2 comments on “Here’s a nice song from the Tamil-dubbed version of Naya Daur

  1. That sounds cute. I’m so tickled to hear Dilip Kumar singing in Tamil. Interestingly I came here after having just seen the Tamil versions of a couple of Ra. One songs.

    I hope these coloured prints don’t push out the black and white Naya Daur prints as they seem to have done with Mughal e azam black and white prints.

  2. Yes, it is cute! And I was also thinking that it is very amusing to hear Dilip Kumar get playback in Tamil, though with Vyjayanthimala it actually sounds more natural. :)

    I got my own DVD of Naya Daur in the summer of 2008 (which I just confirmed by looking at a few old posts on this blog). I think the color version had already been out for close to a year, but I decided to go with the old black-and-white, and I’m glad I did. And I agree, it would be best if the black-and-white version continued to be available widely.

    It seems to me that there’s been a little more criticism of the color Naya Daur than of the color Mughal-E-Azam (maybe there’s just a bit too much flaming pink in that Naya Daur… but also, it’s because at least some of Mughal-E-Azam was already in color, and reviews that I’ve read opined that the new colors really are better than the old ones). So, I am thinking that maybe with Naya Daur, the black-and-white does have a better chance of surviving.

Leave a Reply

