4 comments on “Happy Diwali!

  1. I think I have seen this film!
    Anyway since I can’t celebrate much of diwali here, it reflects a li’l bit of my sentiment as well.
    But compared to her losing her parents and siblings and what not, my little tug at the heart is not much!

    And more than anything love her criticism of the consumerism in the middle part of the song!

    chaaro.n taraf lagaa hu_aa
    miinaa\-bazaar hai (All around you see glittering gold)
    dhan kii jahaa.N pe jiit
    Gariibo.n kii haar hai (in this world the rich win and the poor lose)
    insaaniyat ke bhes me.n
    phirataa hai luTeraa (In the guise of humanity roams the robber)
    jii chaahataa sansaar me.n
    mai.n aag lagaa duu.N (I wish I could set fire to this world)
    soye huye insaan kii
    qisamat ko jagaa duu.N (Wake the humanity from its slumber and make it realise it’s fate)
    Thokar se u.Daa duu.N mai.n
    dayaa\-dharm kaa Deraa (Kick this hypocrite play of pity and religion)

    But why the sudden change of the mood and dance. Is it the the miracle of Diwali? ;-)

    A Diwali song with revoltuionary spirit!

  2. Thanks, Harvey. I guess you knew I could use a translation. It’s even better than I thought! And I would love to see this film. (This is the film that also features the famous dance by nine-year-old Baby Kalmala.) The part of the song that you quoted is great!

    I was myself actually very close to a big annual celebration of Diwali during the three years that I lived in the Jackson Heights area of Queens, NY. Every Diwali in the shopping center area on 74th Street between Roosevelt Ave and 37th Avenue (where I have bought many of my DVDs), all the trees and lampposts get decorated with the kinds of lights that Americans more commonly know as Christmas lights. Of course, Christmas in New York City and in the U.S. in general has for a long time been a holiday for hucksters and consumerism (although relatively toned down in these Great Recession years), and those lights that go up for Diwali are also there mostly to encourage more business. So, in that context, this Diwali song fits perfectly. :)

  3. >But why the sudden change of the mood and dance. Is it the the miracle of Diwali? ;-)

    Harvey, I think it’s the presence of Ashok Kumar who she spies after singing 3/4 of the song.

  4. “Harvey, I think it’s the presence of Ashok Kumar who she spies after singing 3/4 of the song.”

    *ggg*
    The sight of Ashok Kumar is enough to drive all the revolutionary thoughts she had in mind! ;-)
    *ggg*

Leave a Reply

