7 comments on “Two Nargises are better than one(?)

  1. Beautiful duet, and a beautiful film IMO. The film Anhonee had Raj Kapoor, but it was Nargis’ film all the way.
    Some scenes were clearly edited out, but this wasn’t the general case, and the film can still be enjoyed.
    Great suspense!

  2. @v@, yes, I have decided that I agree, no need for the question mark anymore – two Nargises are better.

    Pacifist, thanks for the description of the movie. I haven’t seen it yet, though I almost picked it off the shelf a couple of times. I’ll have to pick it up.

    Bawa, yes, it is lovely. I see that the music director is Roshan. When I think of this combination – Roshan, Rajkumari, and Lata Mangeshkar – I think of the great soundtrack to Bawre Nain (1950) (which also was a Raj Kapoor film, btw, though not a Nargis one). But I don’t recall any duets they sang together in that one. If there were any, I’d like to know about that, because the two do sound so nice together!

  3. A beautiful duet. Rajkumari’s full voice belongs to the vintage era when there was great variability in female voices. One consequence of Lata Mangeshkar’s all-conquering domination was loss of these varieties with singers like Zohrabai Ambalewali, Amirbai Karnataki etc. I have athought about writing about this on my blog – something like a series on female singers of the vintage era.

  4. AK, I think you know how much I agree re. the great variety of female voices in the 40s. :) That is one of the reasons the 1940s is my all-time favorite decade for Hindi film music. Please do post that series!

    Sharmi, thanks for the comments about the film – yes, I will have to go get this one sometime soon.

Leave a Reply

