8 comments on “A three-day weekend in which to pay tribute to three supreme beings in Hindi film music

  1. That’s really really special, Richard. The three greats, with their birthdays lined up!!
    Trust you to have observed this. :-)

    The snake dance is beautifully choreographed especially when one thinks of the standard of choreography of that time.

    I couldn’t think of a song combining the three. Perhaps an extensive research of youtube is required here unless someone already knows.

    I do know of a duet though sung by Mohammad Rafi and Noor Jehan for the 1946 film Jugnu.

  2. Re: the song by Mohd. Rafi ‘suhano raat dhal chuki’ – I hope it doesn’t drive harvey away LOL!!

    I love it though. Especially the tune. It’s melodious and flowing.

  3. Very nice selection of songs for your tribute. Richard. I really like Naushad’s snake dance video. I can see why it’s one of your favorite snake dances. The lively music by Naushad which accompanies the dance is quite good. And I especially love the mesmerizing sound of the Pungi, which, of course, is the predominant instrument in all snake dances. Eerie, yet beautiful at the same time.

  4. Thank you for combining these three maestros…a special weekend indeed.

    @pacifist: my Mum & Dad sang this duet (quite decently) for a fund-raiser in the 70s: after that, we could sometimes wiggle it out of them on special occasions :)

  5. Pacifist, thanks once again for the nice words. I wasn’t recalling three birthdays, though – that’s two birthdays and a death anniversary. I don’t think that there is a song that combines Rafi, Noor Jehan and Naushad. (Though now that I think about it, there is at least one film that includes all three – Anmol Ghadi!) I think that Jugnu contains the only Rafi-Noor Jehan duet in films, period, and I did cite that film to pay tribute to both greats at once in 2009 (though, if you follow that link…sorry the post is such a mess; I need to replace a lot of clips; Tom apparently is far from the only one who’s been kicked off YouTube in the past two years). And not to be nit-picky, but according to most sources, the release date for Jugnu was 1947. (I have read/heard that the film was a current rage in both new countries right after Partition. :) ) It was actually Noor Jehan’s second-last Bollywood film; the last one was Mirza Sahiban.

    Regarding “Suhani Raat Dhal Chuki” (which was from a movie made two years later called Dulari)… Yes, I recall that Harvey had some problem with it and misinterpreted the lyrics in some odd way, but I see that you appreciate it and I recall it being Ava’s favorite, and it’s one of my favorites, too!

    Mister Naidu, thanks, and I agree about the pungi – which is just another word for been, right? It is the predominant instrument in most snake dances – except for maybe the most famous of them all, from Nagin (1954), which actually was dominated by a clavioline, making it, if I’m not mistaken, the first Hindi film song ever to feature a kind of synthesizer.

    Bawa, I actually remember you saying sometime back that your parents liked to sing that song from Jugnu. :)

  6. A very sweet post. I was aware Naushad of Rafi’s birth anniversaries clsoe to each other, but did not connect Noorjehan’s death anniversary. The snake dance was fntastic.

  7. Suhani raat dhal chuki brings back memories!
    The snake dance from Dastan was completely new for me. Thanks for that!
    A nice tribute!

  8. *blush* *blush* *blush*
    Yes, of course it’s two birthdays and a death anniversary.
    It was a mistake made in haste. *blushing furiously*

Leave a Reply

