25 comments on “Here’s Yakub performing “Inhi Logon Ne” in the 1943 film Aabroo

  1. Richard!
    What a find!
    I knew Yakub only from Paying Guest and had heard that he acted in other films as well.
    To find him here dancing and singing (?) Inhi Logo Ne is a revelation! Loved it!
    thanks for sharing!

  2. You’re welcome, Harvey.

    I have seen quite a few films with Yakub, maybe because of my fondness of films from the ’40s and very early ’50s. I remember him most for his performances in Lal Haveli (1944), Patanga (1949), and Dilruba (1950). I guess you can say I’m a Yakub fan. (And by the way, I am changing the title, because I realize that his name is more commonly spelled with a “k” in this alphabet.) Though I think that Greta Memsaab might actually be a bigger Yakub fan than I am. :)

  3. Wonder if the music director of Aabroo (1943) is also Ghulam Mohammad. It is also probable that this is a much older traditional song. The lyrics between this inhi logon ne and that from Pakeezah does vary a bit.
    There are two entries for Aabroo 1943 on imdb, I think this one is the one directed by Govind Ram, since on youtube video it also says Pandit Gobindram.

  4. I think it must be a much older traditional song. I found this thanks to YouTube comments under the Pakeezah version. There is an even older version, sung by Shamshad Begum in 1941, for the film Himmat. There are no clips available, but here’s the audio:

  5. What an interesting find! IsGhulam Mohammed the music director for the Yakub version too? And the Shamshad version – I’m wondering if Ghulam Mohammed was the common factor in all three versions. Nice.

  6. Glad everybody appreciated these as much as I did…

    Harvey and Anu, I don’t see any evidence that Ghulam Mohammed had anything to do with these films. I see other music directors credited, and Ghulam Mohammed wasn’t a music director on his own until 1947; before that, he was assisting Naushad.

    Bawa, I was hoping you would enjoy these – especially the Shamshad Begum one that I posted in comments, since it seems to me that you are the greatest Shamshad Begum expert among us. :)

    Swarup, yes, I saw a comment at YouTube that this was her debut, but I wasn’t sure if it was right; I kind of thought she’d debuted earlier. But at the Cineplot page that you linked to, Vidur is the one who says it was and if he says so, it’s probably true.

    I have the soundtrack to Khazanchi, which contains a lot of Shamshad Begum songs and which also came out in 1941. (I think I also saw much of that film, though without subtitles, so I couldn’t exactly follow it.) I also love the playback singing that she did for Manorama in the 1942 Khandan. So, it looks as though the young Shamshad Begum was great from the very start. :)

  7. From another site http://fundaez.blogspot.com.au/2008_03_01_archive.html
    I find “Shamshad Begum first sang this song in a film made in 1941, which somehow went unnoticed. In 1972, Lata Mangeshkar sang the same song and created a history of sorts. Which song?

    Ans.: “Inhi Logon Ne Le Lina Dupatta Mera”

    Is this true? I enjoy old Hindi film songs but my knowledge is very limited. I assume that SHamshad Begum sang in Punjabi films before this.

  8. From this list, it appears she sang in Assamese films in 1935,1939

    http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0066833/

    Since the list did not mention Himmat, I assume that it is incomplete. From a Cineplot list, it seems that it is one of her first Hindi film songs. She was a very popular singer of Punjabi songs both on radio, as a recorded artist and possibly films for several years before. In any case, I have not heard this song before and like it very much.

  9. Swarup, thanks for doing all this research. :) Unfortunately, I have found IMDb to be extremely unreliable in the dates it provides, etc. (If you look up Padmini, for instance, you will see that it credits her for starring in a film in 1933. She was born in 1932, and she wasn’t in any films until 1947.)

    Of the Shamshad Begum histories that I looked at, the Wikipedia one seems the most coherent to me…according to which she was a radio star first (and might have sung in Punjabi) and became a Hindi/Urdu playback singer for Ghulam Haider while he was still based in Lahore (through the films Khazanchi and khandan), then moved with his team to Bombay in ’44.

    I wonder if anyone else out there has any more info…

  10. I do not know how genuine it is but there is a video with dance of the song above

  11. It might be genuine, with unsynchronised audio, but it is a lovely dance even if it isn’t!

  12. This article on Ghulam Haider from The Punjabi site suggests that Ghulam Haider gave her a break in playback singing in 1939, bur does not name the movie(s).

    http://www.apnaorg.com/articles/sap16/index1.html

    She is supposed to have debuted in Peshawar radio circa 1935, when she would have been 16, and on Lahore radio around 1938.

    On a tangent, an interesting programme in Punjabi on early Lahore Radio Rafi’s debut

  13. Thank you for the good links, Bawa. You’ve pointed us to some good information on Shamshad Begum and on Rafi, but in both places, most of all, I was reminded of how much I love Noor Jehan. :)

  14. I guess that old habits die hard. Once my curiosity was aroused by that lovely song, I started thinking about all sorts of questions even though I know very little about Hindi films. These vary from irrelevant to obscure and difficult. If the above video is genuine, is the dancer Ragini (Ragni)? That would be a strange coincidence, since her original name was Shamshad Begum. Maybe some one knows the answer.

  15. This is really really interesting.
    Thanks, Richard.
    I did feel that the ‘dupatta’ song must be a folk song or something like that. It has that typical narrative style of lyrics trying to make a point with it’s double entendres. Nimbuda nimbuda is another folk song from contemporary films.

  16. What a great find – the Yakub dance on Inhi logon ne. I was aware of the Shamshad version from Himmat. In fact I was planning to write on her and Lata version, as I did for Jhumka gira re – which also has a Shamshad Begum version. Enjoyed it. Thanks.

    AK

  17. Swarup, re. your latest question, I wouldn’t know myself. I don’t know much about that Ragini, just the other one, who arrived a little later, with her sisters from the South. :)

    Pacifist, I understand that “Nimbuda Nimbuda” is a Rajasthani folk song. But I don’t know of any film versions before about 2000. It would be interesting to find out if there might be an older one, in a classic film somewhere.

    AK, glad you liked this. I hope that you will continue with your own writeup on the song – but toss in the Yakub version too. :)

  18. The video that goes along with the Himmat version posted above is not genuine. The dancer Maya Dass is of the 50s and not the 40s.

  19. IT THROW THE LIGHTS ON INDIAN MOTION FILMS WHEN IT WAS ON INFANTRY STAGE. OR ALSO GIVES THE INFORMATION OF INDIAN TRADITIONAL CLASSICAL MUSIC

Leave a Reply

