9 comments on “A colorized moment of “Jawan Hai Mohabbat” in a commercial for artificial milk

  1. Yes, it was very nice to see a young, pre-partition Noor Jehan in color (not a common sight!). But it wasn’t even really a full visual moment from the song, because the entire background was gone! I think colorization would have ruined that art deco decor (or maybe just distracted from it too much). But I agree with you that it would have been nice had they continued with the original song, at least for a little longer…

  2. watching the ad,i feel she is still alive.
    There is a kamala dance song in a movie vethala ullakam (1948) in tamil which follow the same tune as in jawan hai mohobat

  3. A classy ad. Never saw a Pakistani ad before so my opinion of them is now very high – just based on this. LOL
    Yes, nice to hear the song in colour and agree with harvey – they should have just continued with it.

  4. The girl in Pink is Sonya Jehan. Noor Jehan’s grand-daughter. She is the daughter of Noor Jehan and Shaukat Hussain Rizvi’s eldest son, Akbar Rizvi.

  5. Padmini fan, thank you for the interesting info. There are a couple of Kamala dances from Vedhala Ulagam up on YouTube, but I didn’t recognize music from “Jawan Hai Mohabbat,” so maybe it’s another dance? Oh, and by the way, I understand that this film also had Padmini-Lalitha? Another dance of theirs from 1948 – I would love to get a copy of this sometime!

  6. Jamal Akbar, thank your for those details. I had heard of Sonya Jehan, but I didn’t make (or know about) all the connections. So, I guess this clip makes a bit more sense now. :) And I guess the man is Fawad Khan. I understand that these are very significant people to feature in this ad, but I have to agree with Harvey and Pacifist that it would have been nice to see more colorized Noor Jehan. :)

  7. Another vote for more Noor Jehna in colour. This song is the ultimate contagios-optimism-energy…I can’t think of another one like it!

  8. Yes, it is the ultimate contagious-optimism-energy – though that isn’t exactly how the Anmol Ghadi turns out by the end. I like the final line of Philip Lutgendorf’s writeup: “This is a grim conclusion indeed, but, thank Heaven, we can just walk away from it – humming the delightful tunes of Naushad.” But that’s not to say I have any negative feelings about this film. In fact, I often consider it my favorite Hindi movie of all time. :-)

Leave a Reply

