8 comments on “The Kalpana (1948) episode of 100 Years of Bollywood

  1. Hi Richard
    Its been quite some time since I responded to your posts though have been following everything religiously. Kalpana is one movie that has been in my wish list since ages. In case you come to know of its availability, please let me know.
    Thanks and regards
    Viju

  2. Thank you for the update, Swarup. That was a good blog post, which I seem to have missed entirely. (I think I was a bit distracted at that time.)

    Viju, thanks for writing in after some time. :) I will certainly let you (and everyone) know when I find out about a copy that’s available!

  3. Dear Richard,

    The Restored Reels have been “restored to” the National Film Archives from the customs office as of August 1st, and the NFDC would be releasing the movie as a DVD as per a report in Malayala Manorama, very soon. Here is the pic of the entire “consignment” from US, courtesy the team behind The Celluloid Man, the brilliant documentary on PK Nair, the archivist patriarch of Indian Cinema.
    https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=165207823614576&set=a.155574974577861.32414.155014664633892&type=1&theater

  4. Hi Richard,
    Not sure if this is the best place to post this comment – I’m a huge padmini fan and I’ve been following your blog for a few weeks and think it’s wonderful. Thank you! I just wanted to let you know about my new padmini fan blog – http://athousanddances.posterous.com/ – it’s a sort of outlet for my padmini obsession.
    Keep up the great work!

  5. Ebenezer, thanks for the nice link to the pic of the reels on Facebook – I shared that.

    A Thousand Dances, a thousand thanks for the nice words! Of course this is a good place to post that comment, and I will add your blog to the roll.

  6. Thanks Cinematters for the info…. That was really such a great news. Can’t wait to catch hold of a copy of the DVD!!!

Leave a Reply

