13 comments on “Anamika (1973) – Skip the Movie, But Dont Miss The Cabaret Scene!

  1. That’s a nice enough sounding song, but maybe I would appreciate it more if I knew what the lyrics meant, and I haven’t been able to see a translation. It doesn’t matter what the lyrics mean in Aaj Ki Raat, because I could tell what was going on from the dancing and the action (after the English introduction) and I just love the music and the beat. Plus it’s one of my favorite Helen dances of the ’70s.

    All the performances in this movie were good. I’ve never not liked Jaya Bachchan in a movie (she would definitely be on my ’70s beauties list :) , but I found the unwinding of the plot at the end to be a bit unbearable. Too bad, because it started off all right, with the old misogynist-falls-in-love theme (it’s funny because right before I saw this one, I saw the same theme used in Afsana (1966)), but then it just kind of loses it. The burn-deformed villain bit near the end was especially hokey…

    By the way, thank you for the good word on the format. As you can see, I played with it a little more. I’m a little concerned that the print won’t be as easily readable, because so much of my blog depends on writing. But I tried one with an all-white background, and it distracted a lot from the videos (which are at least as important). The last format had the both black and white in the right places, but I was getting really tired of the design in general (especially the red part) and the fact that the sidebars somehow seemed much more restricting. Well, I held onto that format for two years; hopefully, I (and everyone) will get used to the new one all right and I can keep this around for a while.

  2. I agree with bollywooddeewana: Meri bheegi-bheegi si is a lovely song, though for me the music and Kishore’s singing is probably what makes it worth listening to, not the words.

    For what it’s worth, here’s a rough (mostly literal) translation of the lyrics of the song:

    My dreams shattered and lay on my wet eyelids
    May you, Anamika, also yearn the way I have…

    Without recognising you or knowing you,
    I took you to my heart
    But in return for my love,
    This is what you gave me.
    The way I have spent this season of parting,
    With cries of anguish,
    May you, Anamika, also yearn the way I have…

    A relationship with a woman is like a relationship with fire
    Why can my heart not understand this?
    What came upon me, that I fell in love with someone who was unfaithful?
    The world scorns your perfidy, wherever you go:
    May you, Anamika, also yearn the way I have…

  3. Dustedoff, thank you for the translation. It is interesting to find out what the words mean (and certainly, the song fits for that point in the film). Though this isn’t the song from the movie that grabbed me, I do like Kishore Kumar’s singing. I’ll give this one some more listens…

  4. You’re welcome! I do wish DVD would provide subtitles for songs – always. Sometimes the lyrics are what make a song, even more than the music…

  5. I agree. One of RD’s and Helen’s best!! Song has a great slow groove.

    Here’s the lyrics from another DVD:

    ”Tonight’s the night, when,
    somebody is to come”

    So await him a little more…

    ”Tonight’s the night,
    somebody is to come”

    ”Let him come, at least
    you impatient heart…”

    ”Then love him all you
    want to”

    ”You didn’t turn up,
    but somebody else did”

    ”So come and save me…
    save me from him”

    ”People try to get fresh
    with me”

    ”How long can l defend myself
    so come to my help”

    ”l hope nobody robs you
    of your love…”

    ”Tonight’s the night…
    somebody is to come”

    ”Wait for him, for a while…”

    ”Let him come at least…
    my impatient little heart”

    Then love him all you want to!

    ”O, please come.
    Come now, atleast”

    ”Tonight’s the night… when,
    somebody is to come…”

    Await him for a while…

    ”Let him come at least,
    O, impatient heart of mine”

    ”Then love him
    all you want to”

  6. Hi – I just stumbled on your site through jacksonheightslife.com

    I saw Anamika a few years back and enjoyed it. So many humorous moments, and yes, that was a great cabaret scene with Helen!

  7. Hi, Jennifer – glad you found this site. I think that Jackson Heights Life listing was posted in this blog’s infancy, when I had more varied and contemporary materials here. :) Anyway, it’s nice to see a neighbor stopping by. If you have any experiences with shopping for Bollywood DVDs around here and you’d like to share them, I’d love to hear another person’s perspective…

    Anyway, yes, Anamika did have amusing moments, and so far, I haven’t heard of anyone who didn’t appreciate that Helen cabaret scene!

  8. p.s. I used to have boots like Helen is wearing in that video as a kid! I’ve had this song on a CD for a long time but had never seen the matching video. Better that I could have imagined.

  9. You had those boots as a kid? That’s great! Was that around 1973?

    I wish I could say that I once owned a shirt like the one the boyfriend/hero is wearing. :)

    Watching it again, I’m not only enjoying Helen’s performance; I’m getting to appreciate Jaya Bachchan even more. There are parallels between her character’s experience at this cabaret show and the Asha Parekh character’s experience at the Bindu show in Kati Patang. Jaya’s character doesn’t want to be recognized by the cabaret dancer; it’s going to kind of wreck things for her, and Helen’s character also did some bad things to her. But instead of looking simply horrified like Asha in Kati Patang, Jaya is showing this sort of half-laughing, embarrassed dread. Especially around 0:12 or so, Jaya’s expressions, particularly her eye gestures, are very funny, and just perfect for the situation.

  10. Yes, ’73 sounds about right, I had those boots and also a matching sleeveless white patten leather mini dress, no sleeveless, which was worn with a pink turtle neck underneath.

    Wow, great comparison to Kati Patang, I hadn’t thought of that, but you’re right,, Jaya’s reaction is much more understated, but then again Helen isn’t quite writhing on the table and the floor either like Shabnam, LOL. Here it is for fun:

    http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x237yt_mera-naam-hai-shabnam-kati-patang-1_webcam

Leave a Reply

