3 comments on ““Dil Kisko Doon”

  1. Ah, lovely song (and I do adore Helen)! Isn’t the tune inspired by Harry Belafonte’s `Day O’? Sounds like it:

    BTW, I would really like to know who that dancer is with Helen. I’ve seen him in so many songs, he deserves to be given credit!

  2. Yes, it is a very amusing tribute to Harry Belafonte. That’s the first thing about this song that caught my attention a few months ago.

    Helen’s dance in this is great, but of course, there are a few other things to notice here too.

    Yes, it would be nice to know who the other dancer is, and too bad he’s not getting credit. Personally, I don’t know right now, though maybe this could be found out.

    Lately, as you may have noticed, I’ve been on a bit of a Nadira kick, having just watched Aan. (And also rewatching some favorite scenes from Shree 420.) So, coming back to this song after a couple of months, I am especially appreciating the rather furious-looking Nadira here.

  3. Mmm, Nadira was quite something in both Aan as well as Shree 420 – and of course, Dil Apna aur Preet Paraayi (though I must admit it’s been so long since I saw this film, I don’t remember the nuances of it). All I seem to recall is being irritated at Raaj Kumar’s character for having married one woman while being in love with another. I could be wrong about his motives for that, of course – but still.

    I love the way Nadira’s expression goes from amused/condescending to I’ll-rip-your-eyes-out furious!

Leave a Reply

