12 comments on “Women [and Sometimes Men] on Swings, Part II

  1. Thanks for the link to Tommydan1.
    Perhaps there would be many songs on the theme of ‘swings’.
    Coming to color , I like this number from ‘Dulhan wohi jo piya man bhaye’.This song sung by Hemlata was quite poular when the movie was released-

    The other number I like is from Shyam Benegal’s classic ‘Junoon’ set in the backdrop of Indian uprising against the British in 1857 –

  2. Sita-ji, thank you for the further good words and encouragement regarding this movie.

    Veda, thank you for yet more clips! I particularly like the Junoon clip (so t’s nice that WordPress, which has a mind of its own, decided to post that clip here :). I have to see that movie sometime.

    Glad you like the link to Tommydan1. I was drawing upon his YouTube site a lot for this blog earlier, then he got suspended for what seems like the final time (hence many blank clips in the blog’s past, which I need to replace). There are Tommydan1 clips still posted on YouTube, but they’re on other people’s sites – including my own. ;)

  3. Richard,
    there’s this one from the punjabi film Posti, sung by Rafi and Shamshad, that not only is on a swing, at least for some of the time, but the lyrics actually go, “you are the swing, I am its shadow..”

    There is a whole festival dedicated to swings in Punjab (Teej or Teejanh), takes place in August, when girls and women gather round the village swing, wear new bangles and swing and sing songs, probably to celebrate the better monsoon weather

  4. Bawa, thank you for the Shamshad and Rafi clip – very nice.

    That fesitval sounds very nice, too. Your description reminded me of the first clip in my first swings post, from Anjaan. Do the women dance (like Vyjayanthimala) too?

  5. Yes, they do, the Punjabi folk dance for women called Gidha or Gidda.
    Youtube is full of the canned version of it (pre-recorded singing or music vidoes by professionals) but the way we did it was like this

    the college authorities would put up the swings on trees as we were lucky to have extensive grounds, and then much singing and dancing was encouraged to emulate the village festival. Lots of the girls did come from rural areas as a matter of fact. You have reminded me of some good times:)

    The video that I have been able to find best capturing the setting has been this (but does not have live singing with just the drum and clapping as is usual in real life)

  6. Bawa, thanks for those Gidda clips. Those are fun! The second one does have some canned ingredients. But that’s OK. Looking this one up elsewhere, I guess that’s Miss Pooja? Don’t know the contemporary Punjabi stuff so well these days, but I kind of like Mallika & Jyoti…

  7. Bollywodo Deewana,

    Yet another swings clip! Thank you, that’s nice. Might be time for a Part 3 soon. Or maybe just a “Songs with swings and Jaya Bacchan” post (if we could get a couple more in).

  8. I hadn’t heard these before, neither Pooja nor Mallika & Jyoti. Nice, the modern Punjabi song era. I myself like the older crowd much more.

    The verses used in Gidda are called Boli (singular) or Boliyan (plural). Each boli starts out slow, sometimes sung together, if all know the words, or most times by one of the women, to dholki beat and clapping. When the punchline is reached in the end, the tempo picks up and they start dancing, and everyone joins in repeating the punchline with increasing tempo until you run out of breath, then the next boli starts, again slow.

    The subject matter of the bolis can be sarcastic, comic, complaining of treatment received at hands of in-laws or husband, separation from husband, political or even very naughty!

    Often there is mimicry in boli, one of the women temporarily playing the mother-in-law/husband/sister-in-law etc while the boli is sung.

  9. Yes, I like the older music much more myself now.

    When I moved to Jackson Heights a couple of years ago, there seemed to be a lot of this Punjabi/Bhangra stuff coming out of some car radios and CD/DVD stores. (Not so much anymore… I don’t hear much of anything now, and one or two of the stores have closed. I guess we know why that happened…) Since I was also trying to put together a more contemporary-focused music blog here (at least the first few months), I checked out some of this stuff more carefully. It kind of wore off for me, though, and I did get to like the “older crowd” much more. (Within our little circle of bloggers, I think Sita-ji keeps up with the music more than I do…)

    Thanks fo the extra information about Gidda – good stuff to know for future reference! But I think I see that speeding-up tempo pattern in a whole lot of things. :)

  10. Bawa,
    Thanks for that explanation of Boli / Boliyan. Now it makes so much sense what I’ve heard when you describe it so well. I think when I attended the Sonu Nigam concert the other night there we 2 examples in his performance of boli.

Leave a Reply

