7 comments on “Most Beautiful Combination of Music Director, Actress, and Playback Singer Ever

  1. I don’t remember the details of Baiju Bawra (the story is too well-known in Indian legend-folklore-sort of history to be anything new), but I do remember the songs: fabulous.

  2. Yes, I agree, the songs far surpass the movie, but the movie isn’t bad. Coming from an American background, I found much of its approach to be different and refreshing. And I enjoy the heavy romanticism that one finds in so many old Indian movies (very different from so much that I’ve seen coming from my own time and place)… This one actually gets pretty over-the-top in that way (maybe sometimes “too much of a good thing”?) but the acting is great. Well, at least Meena’s, anyway. Her performance is wonderful. Maybe she’s a bit childish here to have the same appeal as she’d have by the early ’60s (or even the late ’50s), but she’s still positively stunning here.

  3. The songs are just out of this world, every single one. I think I can still “sing” (=know the lyrics) of all of them, so deeply do they get etched in ones mind. Lata and Rafi both surpassed themselves in this movie, and Lata’s higher notes are just so crystaline.

  4. Bawa, I’m afraid that my ability to “know the lyrics” to these songs is about the same as my ability to actually sing them…but I love listening to them nonetheless.

    Yes, Rafi and Lata surpassed themselves…sort of. :) I mean, if they “surpassed themselves,” it means that they never did anything as great before, and I still think my favorite Lata song is “Ayega Anewala,” done four years earlier. But I can’t say that her songs here are any less great.

    As you pointed out a couple of times, it becomes silly to try to rank one’s favorites, even to rank different songs sung by the same person. I’m thinking that because I’ve been anguishing over my “Filmi Favorites” list, which I just revised. I think most of my numbered favorites should be considered interchangeable in “rank,” especially near the top. Great is just great, period. :)

  5. Richard, you are right, not very accurate use of the word surpass. I think what was in my mind was that Rafi was made by Naushad to stretch his vocal cords for Duniya ke rakhwale. He talks about it here.

    To summarise he says that Rafi rehearsed and prepared this song for about 15-20 days before actually recording it. In it he (Naushad) made a deliberate experiment to see how far he could stretch Rafi’s vocal range in the upper register. After recording it, Rafi had to rest and not sing for several days as his voice had suffered. Naushad says some people say his throat bled but Rafi himself never mentioned this to him. After some years Naushad re-recorded the song with Rafi and he actually sang it two notes higher than the original.

    Lata is so good in all the different moods of her songs in this film.

    And I am not ranking:)

  6. Thanks, Bawa. Unfortunately, when I tried to get into this YouTube link, it told me that the video was private! Is this a big secret that was shared with you? :)

  7. Hey, its gone private on me too! No, I just came across it once when I was searching for Naushad interviews. I remembered that bit where he talked of experimenting with Rafi’s voice and gave you the link (for reference purposes).

    Anyway this was just an audio of him talking followed up with the song Madhuban Mein Radhika, so you haven’t missed any visuals and I have summarised the audio for you.

    As a kid I used to sing Madhuban mera dhika thinking that dhika must be some kind of nice object!!

Leave a Reply

