11 comments on “Ratan (1944)

  1. I haven’t seen the movie though I love the songs and I liked your review, Hope Ratan and Naushad helped you settle in nicely into your new place.

  2. I second that – I hope you’re settled in comfortably! And yes, I haven’t seen Ratan either, but I do love the songs – especially Ankhiyaan milaake jiya bharmaake: beautiful.

  3. It seems that not many people have actually seen this film in recent years. :) Despite all the problems, I have to be grateful to Friends for making these very old movies available on DVD with English subtitles… And I’m glad that I got their DVD to work (or got a working DVD) on the second try, months after the first. It was nice to see the entire film…

    Bawa and Dustedoff, thank you both for the good wishes. When I went to the stoe where I bought Ratan, I was reminded that the new place is actually closer to those stores than the old one (I just need to approach them from a different direction). Given all the unusual (to say the least) problems I’ve had with housing over the past couple of years, it’s a consolation to know that I’ve always managed to stay within twelve blocks of the best Bollywood DVD stores. That minor victory will make settling in a little easier, I think. :)

  4. To have always managed to stay in such close proximity to the best Bollywood DVD stores is high achievement indeed! Well done :-)

    I need to start doing Christmas shopping, and for my father I’ve already decided I’ll look for some of these old films – he’d mentioned he wanted Anmol Ghadi, Sangdil, Ratan and a couple more. I’m not sure how many I’ll be able to find in the stores here (they tend to stock very few films older than Sholay, and even if they are older, they’re the very well-known ones, the sort that are anyway shown often enough on TV. Induna, here I come…

  5. So you never move far from your favorite DVD stores, do you?! Isnt that unbearable temptation on a daily basis? My bank balance would be down to zero if I had good DVD stores so close by! ;-)

    I havent seen the film either, but the songs are lovely, though not, as you point out, anywhere near as spectacular as those from Baiju Bawra.

    since he has reached an old and undesirable age of 40(!), he will never bring his young bride happiness” Marriageable age for girls in India back then would be 16-18 years. So if the heroine is that age, her husband is, if not as old as her Dad, certainly of the same generation – not always the best combination for a good beginning! Though if he realised that, why did he agree to the marriage?

  6. Hi, Bollyviewer. I do a lot more DVD browsing than buying. :) Being so close to these stores, I am able to tell myself that I don’t have to buy this or that DVD today because I can always pick it up tomorrow or next week. Sometimes I think I would end up buying more if I were making special trips from some distance away.

    Regarding your question… He agrees to the marriage because he was lied to by the woman who arranged the marriage for him (i.e., his sister). He was told that the bride was 28, though she was much younger (of normal marriageable age back then).

    This twist, by the way, was repeated in Mela, another reason that this movie reminded me a bit of that one (in addition to the fact that Mela also had a heartbroken young man (Dilip Kumar) singing sad Naushad songs in front of a big stone head). In that one, the Nargis character is married off to an even older man, who is shocked when he finds out how young his bride is.

    I was just joking when I added the exclamation point to “40” (reflecting that I am now a few years older that). Although, as you well know ;) , Bollywood filmmakers didn’t seem to mind such big age differences between hero and heroine. As a certain former YouTube poster pondered to me in a correspondence once, Ashok Kumar was 38 years old when he was cast in Mahal to become love-obsessed with a 16-year-old Madhubala.

  7. Richard and bollyviewer, I just wanted to add my two cents in the conversation between the two of you… the fact that the 40-year old man marries a teenager because he was lied to, or that (in Mela) he is shocked when he discovers how young his bride is: I’d probably think this was an attempt on the part of cinema to show a little conscience. I remember doing some research for a story a few years back, and was shocked to read that well into the 1900’s, vastly disparate marriages – in terms of age – were not unknown. There were common enough instances (in Bengal, I recall) of little girls, sometimes as small as 7 or 8, being married off to men in their 70’s. Nauseating.

  8. I want dowload of this ” RATAN ” film on my compuer. I like very much this film.

  9. I saw this movie in mid-seventies in Ludhiana at Mini-Chand theatre, not once but twice because movie was so good and not ot mention of songs. I remember it was printed on the movie posters that “Rattan ran for 3 years in theatres in Karachi, Lahore and Bombay”. Movie print was just like new, bright and sharp crisp clear.

Leave a comment