12 comments on “Sandhya in Amar Bhupali (1951)

  1. Wah! I bought a collection of V Shantaram movies just for her. Navrang is a diamond, no doubt, as it Jhanak Jhanak Payal Baje. But I wanted to see Jal bin Machchli… In this movie, she runs all the way from her Dancing School to her own house, it was an incredible dancing kind of a run.

  2. Thank you, Ava… Yes, Jal bin Machhli had some good dances, though the movie was a bit tough to get through. :) I posted the fish-out-of-water dance last January, and there was lots of interesting conversation afterwards, but unfortunately the clip was removed (though maybe I’ll go look for another copy)…

    https://roughinhere.wordpress.com/2010/01/31/a-fish-out-of-water/

    That movie was made two decades after the one above, as was Pinjra was made a year later… But Sandhya could still dance up a storm in these! (Actually, the place where she really danced up a storm was Do Ankhen Barah Haath. :) But I mean, she could dance just as well, and even more energetically, 21 years down the road. I like that!)

    I built up a good collection of Shantaram films one at a time because there was a place near me in Jackson Heights that sold DVDs of many of his films often at three for $10 (or $5 each at most), and so I couldn’t resist grabbing lots of them. (I started a while back with Navrang, of course.)

  3. P.S. For Ava and anyone else who may have missed them :) … I’ve written up a few Sandhya-Shantaram movies in the past (as well as some that just starred Jayashree). Here are the links to some of the Sandhya movie writeups:

    https://roughinhere.wordpress.com/2010/01/03/beautiful-songs-from-parchhaiyan-1952/

    https://roughinhere.wordpress.com/2009/12/30/pinjra-1972/

    https://roughinhere.wordpress.com/2009/09/13/teen-batti-char-rasta/

    https://roughinhere.wordpress.com/2008/07/17/navrang/

  4. she surely had more fluid dance movements then. None of the abrupt epileptic moves here!
    thanks for the songs.
    The first song lat pat, lat pat was very popular even in the 80s on the Marathi radio channel Bombay B!

  5. It could be that Sandhya had not yet developed the more distinctive aspects of her unique style…

    Anyway, it’s good to know that the song remained popular for so long. Vasant Desai was such a good music director! And, of course, there was the young Lata singing in her native tongue…

  6. Thanks for the links Richard.

    There’s a film of Shantaram’s ‘Stree’ based on Kalidas’ Shakuntala. I’m not able to find a copy of that. Does anyone know anything about it? Was it good? Did it have the usual dose of dances?

    Her films had her dances if nothing else. :-)

  7. Pacifist, at one point, I saw Stree in the same store where I bought most of the other Shantaram films; I just didn’t get around to buying it before it disappeared from the shelf. (And right now, I am not living near Jackson Heights as I did for several years – I’ve been residing for the past few months in another town altogether, upstate. But I’ll go back to those stores soon enough, whether or not I end up residing in Queens again.) Most of the Shantaram films I picked up came from Baba Digital, though I don’t see Stree listed in their present catalogue, so unfortunately, I don’t know where you might find it either…

    BTW, I’m not sure what your last line means… Some of her films (i.e., Shantaram’s films) were very good; some defintely weren’t :) . But overall, I’ve found Shantaram to be very rewarding, and the music was outstanding in just about all his films. And I think Sandhya was a very good actress too (though some would no doubt argue with me about that as well :) ).

  8. “It could be that Sandhya had not yet developed the more distinctive aspects of her unique style‚Ķ”

    :-)))

    Stree (some of us used to joke and say Istree, which means in Hindi a iron, the one which uses to iron clothes and the words beginning with S are pronounced in some Hindi dialects as IS) is the story of Shakuntala as narrated/written by Kalidasa. Shakuntala and Dushayant are Bharat’s parents and thus ancestors of Pandavas and Kauravas of Mahabharata.

    Shakuntala’s opening lines are that her maid has tied her kanchuki too tight again. This lines are used to signify her blossoming into a woman. Hmm

  9. LOL!
    It should read,
    ‘His films had her (Sandhya’s) dances at least.’
    Sandhya’s dances were sort of unique (especially in Navrang).
    I hope I can find it somewhere. Its one film never talked about.

    Thanks for that interesting (hmmmm) information about Kalidas’ Shakuntala, harvey. :-)

Leave a Reply

