7 comments on “Construction Notes

  1. “P.S. Regarding the picture at the top of this post… Well, maybe it would have been a little more accurate if I had put up a picture of myself doing construction… But I really much prefer to put up a picture of Padmini instead.

    Hehe! I loved that.

    But, you got me wondering what was coming. A post on songs picturised at construction sites? :-)

  2. Glad you liked that, Madhu. I wasn’t planning on a post of songs picturized at construction sites, but after I wrote this post, I did think a little about it. :) Off the top of my head, I can think of a few, featuring some favorite stars from the Golden Age. But, probably not right now…

  3. She’s thinking of doing one now, and wants to make sure she’s not stepping on your toes.

    “My Ten Favorite Construction Site Songs”

    Don’t forget the Minoo Mumtaz/Madhubala song from Insaan Jaag Utha.

  4. Hehe. Yes, the idea did come to my mind (especially, as you guessed, Tom, Jaanu-jaanu ri, though there are a couple of other songs from Jaag Utha Insaan which would also qualify)… but no, I can’t think of ten songs. So Richard is more than welcome to try his hand at it. :-)

  5. Yes, Insaan Jaag Utha is one film that comes to mind. Another is Bindya (1960), where this song comes from:

    The picture at the top of this post actually comes from Deivapiravi, the Tamil film that Bindya was based on.

    So, we all may have a couple of songs in mind. But I don’t think I’m ready to come up with 10 for a list anytime soon.

  6. I too thought this was a post on songs at construction sites. Let me add two, which either of you or Madhu can use it.
    1. Kabhi aar kabhi paar laga teere-e-nazar
    2. Sathi haath badhana

  7. Thanks, AK. I thought about “Saathi Haath Badhana,” but there isn’t much of a construction site in that song. They’re just shoveling and moving dirt in a road. I forgot what’s happening here – I guess they’re just building a new road (to win the race)? Does that count as a construction site?

    I had completely forgotten about “Kabhi Aar Kabhi Paar Laga Teere-e-Nazar.” Yes, that one fits right in!

Leave a Reply

