5 comments on “Celebrating 10 Years (with a little extra look at this blog’s early days)

  1. Happy birthday to your blog, Richard! I enjoyed reading this post – it was interesting to see how your blog has evolved (even as I read, I was comparing the evolution of your blog to that of mine, because mine, too, has changed in the nearly 9 years it’s been in existence).

    Cheers!

  2. Thank you, Madhu! I am glad you liked my description re. how my blog evolved in the early days.

    By the way, after I ended the post by talking about how Shree 420 was the movie that finally pushed me into full Hindi film fandom, I recalled that not long after that, some of my blogging friends shared a far less favorable opinion of Raj Kapoor and his Charlie Chaplin routine. :) (Though I also think I recall that you felt this film did have some merits…)

    Anyway, congratulations on the nearly nine years, so far, of Dustedoff. You certainly have done a lot there during that time! If you ever want to write a quick summary of your own blog’s evolution, I certainly would be happy to read that, too.

  3. “You certainly have done a lot there during that time! If you ever want to write a quick summary of your own blog’s evolution, I certainly would be happy to read that, too.

    Your post has certainly inspired me to do one of my own, next year. :-)

  4. Very nice to know about the beginnings. I do not know when I noticed this blog but I learnt and enjoyed many posts here. This and Minai’s blog are the ones which gave me introduction to some of the nice songs and dances in Indian films. I do not follow blogs so much now but coming here was educational and I still visit the blog though I do not comment often
    N.

  5. I meant to get back to Madhu for her last comment… Not sure what else to say, though, except that I am happy that this post actually inspired you! :)

    Swarup, I am also glad to see that you were also pleased to learn a little about this blog’s beginnings.

    You certainly don’t have to apologize about not commenting much, because you still do quite a few times, and you are in general biggest commenter on this blog (outside of me, but that’s only because I feel obligated to answer almost everyone). (By the way, the next biggest commenter on the list is Dustedoff.)

    Those comment stats are part of the main stat page at WordPress, so it is pretty easy to visit and assess that (though I am sure you did not expect me to research this for you. :) )

    I looked a little further, and from what I can tell, you started visiting here in October 2011 or maybe slightly before that.

    Anyway, of course, it is always nice to see you stop by, regardless of whether you have been doing so as often (or not) lately.

Leave a Reply

