7 comments on “For the 25th Death Anniversary of the Great Poet Faiz Ahmed Faiz

  1. Lovely post. I think one of the greatest 20th century poet in any any language.

    On a lighter note, in the audio only youtube clips, Noor Jehan sings a popular Punjabi song “Tere mukhde da kala kala til ve” which has this line in the refrain “O, the boy from Sialkot” (O mudiya Sialkotya” and you can hear the laugh in her voice as she says that: because Faiz, from Sialkot, was present at the gathering!

  2. And a little survey that I sent to my family last month, as to which translation they preferred:

    Original Urdu

    Raat yunh dil mein teri khoee hui yaad aayee
    Jaise veeraaney mein chupkey sey bahaar aa jaye
    Jaisey sehra on mein howley se chaley baadey naseem
    Jaisey beemaar ko bey wajhey Qaraar aa jaaye
    >

    Translation by Agha Shahid Ali, from A Rebel’s Silhouette:

    At night my lost memory of you returned
    and I was like the empty field where springtime,
    without being noticed, is bringing flowers;
    I was like the desert over which
    the breeze moves gently, with great care;
    I was like the dying patient
    who, for no reason, smiles.

    Translation by Sarvat Rahman, from 100 Poems by Faiz Ahmed Faiz:

    Last night, your long-lost memory came back to me as though
    Spring stealthily should come to a forsaken wilderness
    A gentle breeze its fragrance over burning deserts blow
    Or, all at once be soothed somehow the sick soul’s distress.

    Translation by Vikram Seth, from Mappings:

    Last night your faded memory came to me
    As in the wilderness spring comes quietly,
    As, slowly, in the desert, moves the breeze,
    As, to a sick man, without cause, comes peace.

    > English Translation – source unknown

    Last night, your lost memories crept into my heart
    as spring arrives secretly into a barren garden
    as a cool morning breeze blows slowly in a desert
    as a sick person feels well, for no reason.

  3. Thank you, Bawa! Yes, I saw somewhere (YouTube comments?) that Noor made an amusing reference to Faiz in one of the non-Faiz songs that she sang. Well, now I know what that was!

    And a very nice coincidence that you sent that “survey” to your family just last month and have all those versions to share here…

    Right now, I think I will be retiring for the night (yes, a bit early for me – I might not even see the dawn :) , so I’ll contemplate some of these beautiful words before I fall asleep, and maybe they will be in my dreams.

  4. He was a gr8 gr8 Poet in the history of our country, a Lovable person, a legend, May Allah Bless his soul…

  5. I have missed on so many interesting posts as I had little time during the past one month due to my official assignments.

    Thanks for the links.

    Coming to Faiz Ahmed Faiz’s poetry here is the link to one of his famous poems ‘Hume thehre ajnabee’ interspersed with Bengali couplets by Qazi Nazrul Islam,the poet-laureate of Bangladesh.The Music is by Muzaffar Ali,multifaceted artiste.The moods convey the thoughts of poets of a united India who witnessed partition and could express the anguish of this trauma through their poems.

    The other link is to a beautiful song compoed by Khaiyyam for Muzaffar Ali’s ‘Anjuman’ that dwelt on the problems of the women craftsmen of Lucknow.This poem by Faiz has been ung by Khaiyyam and Jagjit Kaur.

  6. Veda, welcome back to the comments here, and thank you for these interesting clips.

    Faiz and Nazrul is an interesting combination and it is no surprise that the combination works well.

    By the way, I did some reading up on Nazrul a couple of years ago after seeing some clips of performances by Suzana Ansar…

  7. This is my first comment on your interesitng blog. Just wanted to share with you that I was lucky to personally meet Faiz Ahmed Faiz when he visited my city in India (I think in 1979) – I was a teenager then. There was a short talk and then he mingled with the people around. A very talented poet. It was an emotional gathering coz that was the time when things were getting normalised bet India and Pakistan and visitors were being allowed to visit each other.

Leave a comment