4 comments on “The Qalandariyya (reflections on an excellent video by Filip Holm, which I saw just two weeks after the Urs of Lal Shahbaz Qalandar)

  1. I didn’t have the time to watch the video (or, I must admit, the inclination – I am currently going through a phase where I’m finding it difficult to watch videos for any length of time: I start getting very restive)…. but I read your post, Richard, and with much interest. I will admit that I knew next to nothing of Qalandars, so this was amazingly informative and interesting. Thank you for that.

  2. Madhu, I am very pleased to see that you found this post to be so informative and interesting (and you are very welcome!). It is good to know that I have been able to convey a little information, since I am not exactly a seasoned expert on the matter, myself. While I have seen a lot of references in films to Lal Shahbaz Qalandar and qalandars in general (even more so in Pakistani movies than in Indian ones – especially if we count how many times the famous song is performed), we are rarely told exactly what it means to be a qalandar. So, I very much enjoyed learning about this, myself.

    And it’s perfectly OK if you did not have the time to watch Filip’s video, although I hope you will one of these days. (I could see why you might feel burnt out on watching things. I could never watch as many films as you watch. I only hope that your burnout with videos doesn’t extend to films!)

  3. I think the reason for my burnout with videos is that I like to reserve my video-watching for films! :-) Because I end up watching about an hour of cinema every day, I don’t have the time or patience for videos other than cinema.

  4. That is understandable… I don’t think I have ever watched as much as an hour of cinema every day for any long duration. (Though yes to an hour of song sequences from cinema every day during some long stretches here and there…)

Leave a comment