38 comments on “A Week For Ragini

  1. Very nice clips and Ragini and her cousin were very good-looking kids indeed! What a shame she was in the “died-young” club, so sad. Didn’t know that at all.

    p.s. have been busy with family affairs, so have missed a few posts: looking forward to catching up.
    Hope somehow you can make it to Kerala this year :)

  2. Yes, I couldn’t help noticing an absence of Bawa comments lately. Well, welcome back! Glad you like the clips, and thanks for wishes re. Kerala – yes, that certainly would be nice…

  3. Richard,i may intrupt.Ragini’s husband didnot die b4 of her.It is true that he was younger than Ragini.Also Ragini met with a tragic end.She was shocked to realise that she was affected by Cancer in 1969-1970.She was sure of her death.Hence she wanted to forget about her illness and became raedy in performing any role.And it paved way for movies like Panchavankaadu,Achante Bharya,Ernakulam Junction,Ganga Sangamam etc.You know,she was not able to dub for her last movie….Aalinganam(1976).It was Padmini who dubbed for her .That time Ragini was bed ridden.Ragini had two daughters by that time.Elders was just eleven years old.Ragini was in coma stage for about three months.She took medication from America,Madras and Kerala.She breathed last at Shri.Ranga Bhasha Nursing Home in Chennai on the laps of Lalitha.Padmini was d one who gave her continous support till her death.I think u can’t find such sisters anywhere on earth who were so much lovable,caring and respectable.Three of them were always together.They went to film studios with huge teffin box(and fed all d folk there).U can note that these three sisters performed in films together(except two or three film like Oru Iravu..)
    Ragini’s death was a great gap for their family.Soon cancer virus attacked Lalitha in d very next year.

  4. Hi, Manu. I know that Ragini’s husband did not die before she did; that’s why I say above that he lived through her death. Thank you for sending all of this information in addtion – I was curious for a long time regarding how and when Ragini died, and it’s not easy to find info on that through the usual searches, etc. It is all very sad.

    By the way, are you still planning that photo exhibition for her death anniversary?

    I have more to say regarding all the comments you sent in, but it might take me a little while to catch up, because you are sending so much (which is very welcome, of course).

  5. Richard,

    I am conducting d Photo Exibition that i have planned.It will b in this December.It is a grand pgm.U know,i plan for a photo-exihibition,Session on Breast Cancer Awarness and a Dance Performance(reviving Ragini’s memories… priyamanasa…nee vava).I will let u knew more details on this later(as d planning is going on).Once more i wish that u will b here 4 d same.

    It is sad that v have less sources on her death.I had done research on that.and is now after some archives(newspapers) on her early death.I got these information(s) from her family sources.It is sad that she met with a tragic and painful end.

    U know,there r still painful instances in her life.But i cant post them publicily in this blog.I request u again 2 send me an email.I want to know more on u.I think i may join hands with u in fulfilling d autobiograpghy of Padmini

  6. Thanks, Manu. I will write to you within a few days. Right now I am traveling more locally, in NY State, and I might need to be away from my computer for a day or even two (though that’s almost unthinkable).

    Oh, I sure would love to go to Kerala and see that photo exhibit!

  7. Sorry Richard for a wrong information.Ragini was not in a coma stage.she was aware of everything;but she was under strong medication.ok.She knew about her death,She lived in Nunnupakkam(in Chennai) that time.

  8. Yah Deepthi,it is Mahalaxmi Jayanth.She is a friend of mine.Ragini has yet another daughter-Priya who resides at Texax in America.

  9. padmini is more beautiful nthan ragini .i have padmini’s 121 films. i have collected it

  10. Of course I agree that Padmini was more beautiful. :) But as you can see, I’m very fond of Ragini too. I think they were probably close to equal as dancers, though Padmini had more chances to show that greatness on film.

    You have 121 Padmini films?! That is impressive! I’d love to see the list sometime!

  11. mahalakshmi jeyanth lives n alwarpet chennai next 2 her neice shobanas house it s actually venus colony 2 b precise and it s called ragini house.Yea priya s her sister and mahalakshmi has 2 children,mahalakshmi s very connected n the industry(eventhough she hasnt actd much) and s close frndz wth sripriya radhika sharathkumar jothika nagma etc,she s aeen n all chennai circuit parties:)
    i luv padmini and her dance wth vyjyanthimala n vanjikottai valiban hw i wish choreographer hiralal were alive 2 teach me dance:( i m jealous f saroj khan 4 being his student:)
    i havnt seen much f raginiz wrk bt my mom has loadz f gud thngz 2 say f her and my mom knew padmini wen she was alive:)she incidentally also knowz shobana and mahalakshmi:)
    sweet family and very talented:)

  12. I cordially invites ur esteemed presence to Vailopilly Hall Trichur,Kerala on 16/12/10 ,where i am organising a Photo Exibition of Travancore Sisters in connection with the 34th Death Anivesery of Ragini(my favourite Actress)

  13. Thank you, Manu. I wish I could go. If you have any further information, flyers, a sample pic, etc., and you feel like sending that along, that would be great (and you can be sure I will post it). BTW, I’ve sent you an e-mail too.

  14. I AM THANKFUL N HAPPY TO READ ABOUT MY FAV DANCER ACTRESS RAGINI.BUT WAS VERY SAD ABOUT HER DEATH.IT GIVES A PAIN IN MY HEART.SHE WOULD HAVE SURVIVE IF MEDICAL WOULD HAVE IMPROVE LIKE TODAY.THANK GOD HER TWO DAUGHTERS WERE PROTECTED N BROUGHT UP BY HER AUNTIES(LALITHA N PADMINI).I CANNOT FORGET HER CUTE SWEET FACE N BORN DANCER.BUT LOVE TO SEE THE PHOTOS OF HER TWO DAUGHTERS.SHOBANA RESEMBLES HER 90%.RAGINI’S SPINNING DANCE HAS A SPECIAL.SPEED.I HOPE TO READ MORE ABOUT HER N SEE HER LATEST PHOTO BEFORE HER DEATH.NOW THIS ANGLE DANCER IS IN HEAVEN .

  15. Mallika, you are quite welcome. I don’t recall seeing pictures of Ragini’s daughters; I will have to look for them. But then I see that you mention that her famous niece, Shobana, looks just like her(?)… It hasn’t occurred to me… I always thought I saw a little of Padmini in Shobana’s dances, but maybe that’s because I was familiar with Padmini first, so that was my point of reference. I will have to make this comparison myself sometime too.

    And, yes, it is so sad that Ragini died so young… Thank you for your very touching comments.

  16. Again thanx Mallika and Richard.I invite both to “Ormayile Nishagandhikal”-A Rare Photo Exibition on Tranavcore Sisters on 12-11-2011 at Vylopilli Hall Trichur ;11:00AM- 6:00PM.I am also happy if u could share some pick of Rakki or Lalitha if u have.Sure ur name will be dispalyed.Like that of last time,profit of the show is for Palliative Care Society Trichur.
    As Mallika righty said ,Rakki had a very painful end.She breated last on the laps of her elder sister Lalitha at Shri.Rangabhasya Nursing Home,Madras.And Makki(Mahalakshmi)& Priya looks differentBut Parvathi,Lalitha’s daughter resembles Rakki.People may mistake her as Rakki’s daughter…Infact we really missed Ragini….very painful……

  17. I am extremely sad to learn og Ragini’s death sometimes in 1976. I liked her acting very much in Mujrim with Shammi Kapoor and her dances in Amar Deep and Gehra Daag.
    Can someone send me the full list of her movies at Mohamed.khakoo@tdsb.on.ca
    Moreover what kind of cancer she had? Was it that bad? Did she suffer a lot? Did her two sisters helped her during her illness.

  18. Dear Mohamed,

    Sure Ragini had a painful end.She was affected by Breast Cancer.She suffered a lot,both psychologically and physically.Ragini discovered the virus of cancer in her in 1971 and was totally shocked.She was aware of her death and hence wanted to forget about her disease .Hence she got herself engaged with films.
    Ragini was supported by Padmini for her treatments.Atfirst she was taken to RCC Trivandrum,followed by Vellore Cancer Centre,US Cancer Treatment and finally at Shree Ranga Bhasyam Nursing Home,Madras.She breathed last on Lalitha’s lap.
    As mentioned ,she bravely fought with Cancer paving way to tremendous super hits like Ganga Sangamam,Navagraham,Ernakulam Junction,Panchavan Kaadu,Othenante Magan etc.Will write to u if u want more details….

  19. RaginiJi aunty had a SAD, very SAAAAAAD MARRIED life. Her husbnd beat her, took all her money, was a womanizer, alcoholic, gambler, possesive & jealous Husband & a BAAAAAAD FATHER too. Thats why PadminiJi aunty & LalitaJi aunty always supported RaginiJi aunty. And ofcourse divorce was out of Q in those days!!! this info is from sources close to their family. thats why Ragini ji aunty was so good with comic roles, a stress buster for her. Also thats why you will not find much on her as it was kept all hush-hush, & I dont blame them. Raginiji aunty was my favourite too.

  20. Devi,I knew this….But dont like to write on those here.I knew she suffered a lot…But Rakki was a versatile genius.She was a Sharp Dancer,English Poet,photographer,smooth driver…..and all….
    As I said she will be always remembered for her amazing dance performances….!!!Miss her a lot…with pain from heart

  21. Devi and Manu, sorry to hear these sad stories about Ragini… Wasn’t Ragini’s husband some kind of royalty too? (That doesn’t help to improve my general opinion of royalty – anywhere!)

  22. I invite you to my 3rd Grand Show -RAGINIYUM CANCERUM (RAGINI & CANCER)- A rare photo exhibition of Travancore Sisters and Awarness on Breast Cancer to be held on 8th &9th of September,2012 at SMSS Hindu Mahila Mandhiram Poojapura(d first school of Lalitha -Padmini).The function will be inaugurated by Honorable Health Minister,Govt of Kerala .Actor Krishna will be one of the special guests.Contemporary(ies) of Travancore Sisters will be honored .There will be Awareness Session on Breast Cancer and a Photo -Audio on Ragini and her life.Thrift of the show will b donated for d cause of women with breast cancer.. So please make it a point that you too join for a great cause.

  23. DEAR FRIENDS,

    THERE IS A SLIGHT DIFFERENCE IN THE PROGRAMME.THE PROGRAMME WILL BE INAGURATED BY SHRI.KANAYI KUNJIRAAMAN ON 9TH OF SEPTEMBER,2102.DETAILED INVITATION WILL BE POSTED SOON……

  24. Richard,there is a great news for you….It will really surprise you…..It is regarding their Bithdates and Ragini’s early schooling in Trivandrum….wait for my article soon

  25. Hi,

    Ragini is one of my favourite from old era actors along with Padmini & Sukumari.

    Regarding, her husband Madhavan Thampi, he was no royalty but his ancestors were nobility, that too, only after marriage with Travancore Kings.

    This is from Wiki :
    ”The Travancore Maharajahs’ children do not succeed to the throne under the Marumakkathayam Law, as they belong to their Nair mother’s family and are not royalty. Instead they get a title of nobility, namely Thampi and Kochamma. Consorts of the Maharajahs are usually Nair women, and never Kshatriya (royalty), and hence, is ranked as nobility, and not royalty. They are is known as Panampillai Ammachis. The descendents of Ammachis get the title of Thankachi (female) & Thampi (male). [27] ”

    So Ragini’s husband was only a descendant of nobility, not even close to royalty. But i did read he was very rich but due to his alcoholism he squandered away all the wealth.

  26. I just before 2 days looked at her all dances in Hindi pic Shikari(1963) on youtube & got in love with it What a natural terriffic superb acting dancing she performed in all dances of that pic.Oh God what a so painful tragic death you given to so beautiful superb dancer & that too just at 39 yeras of age Her own life was too too painful as i came to know from above commentsMy heart got teared to hear all those very painful events & tears came down from eyes when going through those comments sometimes my tears comes from my eyes when seeing her songs in above films I hope she must be resting in Heaven O My GOD please give her heavenly pleasure in your home Heaven

  27. while going through The songs in hindi pic Shikari(1963) on youtube 2 days back my heart t got so much pleasure looking so beutifully she acted danced in that pic that I cant control to go into the details of actress Ragini I pained very much to know she died so young just 39 yrs old & very painful death alongthis he too have painful private family life .Oh gOD please give her all heavenly pleasure in your home Heaven Tears came of of my eyes when going through all of above comments whenever i see songs my heart gets pain

  28. Anil, thank you for your touching comment and sweet thoughts about Ragini.

    And I am sorry that it took so long to appear here… Your message was stuck in the wrong folder in WordPress for a few days, because the program had for some reason thought it was “spam” (and I was away for a while…so I could not check to make sure that all “spam” really was, as I try to do frequently). But, of course, nothing could be further from spam!

    After your heartfelt message, I am going to have to look at those songs in Shikari again, soon. (It has been too long since I watched them.)

Leave a comment