5 comments on “Returning to the songs of Ningalenne Communistakki (but still looking for subtitles)

  1. I’m intrigued by your interest in my state; as you stated, this is one of the seminal films of the age, and was /is considered a classic in its genre. I haven’t had the time to read the entire post, but the songs are fantastic, and I could help – if you have the time – to sub-title them as accurately as I can.

  2. Hi. Anu. I was offline for a little over a day and was pleased, when I came back, to see your offer. I remembered that you had origins in Kerala, and I actually wondered if you could be of some help here. :) So, yes, if YOU have the time and would like to subtitle these songs (or any one of them), that would be much appreciated!

    And, yes, I have had an interest in your state for about 20 years. I don’t know if you saw the other references in this blog… Actually, I’m pretty certain you have seen at least some in the past, but at the moment, my memory fails me. :) In any event, I hope to compile a list of links here soon.

    P.S. The links are compiled now (5/19), and while compiling them, I was reminded that you had commented on my “Fascination with Kerala” post in 2012. Yes, of course!

  3. Great fun, Richard. Several members of KPAC transitioned quite beautifully into cinema. Actors, playrights, music composers. The list is endless. It will be interesting to study films made in and around the Kerala leftist world(s). And the genres are many. A film I have not managed to see ( not even in bits) though is PA Backer’s Kabani Nadi Chuvannappol.

  4. Iyesha, many thanks for the recommendation, and for finding it and linking to it! At the moment, I can be online for only a limited amount of time (long story), but I will get back to this soon.

Leave a comment