4 comments on “Seven Contemporary Covers of Songs Once Famously Sung By Noor Jehan

  1. Thank you for this, Richard. I’ll admit I gave up midway through Jis din se piya dil le gaye, when she started going seriously off-tune, and somehow the Punjabi songs – perhaps because I’m not too familiar with the originals – didn’t grip me as much as the others. That said, the ones I liked I liked very much. And a cappella I have a soft spot for, in any case!

  2. You’re welcome Madhu. And even if you didn’t like some of them, it was nice to see that you liked others very much. (I also really like good a cappella, with electronics or without. :) )

    I guess the singer in the “Hidden Talent” video did go off-tune at some point (and I am guessing from your comment that you would have preferred that she stayed hidden, haha). It’s a very interesting project, though, for a good cause. And it’s fun when I can recognize a song among these generically labeled videos. So, I was charmed right away when I recognized that they were covering this song from Intezar (first sung by Noor Jehan and composed by Khurshid Anwar!). Maybe they were being a bit ambitious for taking on this song (and doing it pretty traditionally compared to most of the other covers I listed :) ), but I like to give them some credit for that, too.

    BTW, this series has at least a few people doing good versions of “Lal Meri Pat.” I thought about including a version of that song in this list since Noor Jehan was probably the first singer to do a very popular rendition (and the first one whom I heard singing it in a movie). But, on the other hand, so many others have made it their song, too, and I’ve also already written a few posts about that. :)

  3. ” I thought about including a version of that song in this list since Noor Jehan was probably the first singer to do a very popular rendition (and the first one whom I heard singing it in a movie).

    To be honest, I’d happily hear that song all over again, sung by Noorjehan or just about anybody who can sing well. :-)

Leave a comment